LEOFF 1 Administration

Disability Board

Per RCW 41.26, Pierce County administers the Pierce County Law Enforcement Officers’ and Firefighters’ Plan (LEOFF) 1 Disability Board. This board has jurisdiction over the police and fire agencies in Pierce County, excluding the City of Tacoma Police and Fire Departments and the City of Puyallup Police Department and Fire Department.


The Pierce County Board is made up of:
  • One elected representative of the LEOFF 1 law enforcement officers from agencies under the board’s jurisdiction
  • One elected fire fighter from agencies under the board’s jurisdiction
  • One appointed Pierce County councilmember
  • One representative appointed by the mayors of the small towns and cities within Pierce County
  • One member-at-large appointed by the board


  • Third Wednesday of each month at 1:00pm
  • Meetings are held via conference call 
If there are no agenda items or a quorum is not available, the meeting may be canceled. Please contact Risk Management in advance if you plan to attend a meeting.

Pierce County LEOFF 1 Disability Board Policies

Disability Leave / Retirement Application

  1. Employee/Employer Application 
  2. Physician Application


Reimbursement claims to go before the LEOFF 1 Disability Board can be submitted to:

Mailing Address:

Pierce County Risk Management 

950 Fawcette Ave Ste 200

Tacoma, WA 98402

Email: [email protected] 

Phone: (253) 798-2727