Lodging Tax Advisory Committee
Lodging Tax Advisory
Some activities to promote tourism are funded through a tax on lodging at hotels, motels, inns, bed and breakfasts, camps and other lodging facilities in which guests stay for a short time. 

The funding is allocated to activities that promote tourism in unincorporated Pierce County and in the cities and towns of Bonney Lake, Buckley, Carbonado, DuPont, Edgewood, Fircrest, Milton, Orting, Roy, Ruston, South Prairie, Steilacoom, Sumner, University Place, and Wilkeson.

2023 Meetings
Agendas & Documents
  1. Wed, May 31

  2. Wed, Aug 30

  3. Wed, Nov 29

View All

The Lodging Tax Advisory Committee (LTAC) typically meets four times a year (see dates above for current schedule) at various locations. All meetings are open to the public and remotely via Zoom.  

Any changes to the schedule or meeting place, including cancellations or special meetings, will be posted on this page and will be prominently displayed at the Pierce County Economic Development Department office at 950 Pacific Avenue, Suite 525, in Tacoma.

Current Members

The 12 members of the LTAC are appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the Pierce County Council, The Committee recommends use of the annual allocation of funds and advises the County on tourism activities. The Commission is administered by Pierce County's Economic Development Department. 

The Committee includes: 

  • One County Council Member (who serves as chair)
  • One elected official of a city or town that collects lodging tax that goes to Pierce County
  • Four members from the lodging industry who collect lodging taxes
  • Four members from organizations that are eligible to use lodging funds
  • Two members at-large who are not affiliated with the lodging industry nor the tourism industry
Contact Us

Economic Development Department 

950 Pacific Ave.
Suite 525
Tacoma, WA 98402 

Ph: (253) 798-6150
Fx: (253) 798-6389 

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.