Register to Vote

How to Register to Vote

You can register to vote online or by mail until 8 days before an election or in-person through Election day. Registrations done by mail need to be received by the 8 day deadline.

Election DateDeadline to register online or by mail Deadline to register in person
February 13, 2024 SpecialFebruary 5, 2024February 13, 2024 at 8 p.m.
March 12, 2024 Presidential PrimaryMarch 4, 2024March 12, 2024 at 8 p.m.
April 23, 2024 SpecialApril 15, 2024April 23, 2024 at 8 p.m.
August 6, 2024 PrimaryJuly 29, 2024August 6, 2024 at 8 p.m.
November 5, 2024 GeneralOctober 28, 2024November 5, 2024 at 8 p.m.

Three ways to register:

1. Online

You can register online, 24 hours a day, at 

To register online, you will need:

  • A current Washington State driver license, or
  • A current Washington State ID card

If you do not have either of these, you can still register by mail or in-person.

2. By mail         

Download and print a voter registration form and mail it to Pierce County Elections. Forms are available in many languages.

3. In-person

You can register to vote in-person at the Pierce County Elections Office in Tacoma.

Who can register

To register to vote in Washington, you must be:

  • A citizen of the United States
  • A legal resident of Washington state for at least 30 days prior to election day
  • At least 18 years old by election day
  • Not disqualified from voting due to a court order
  • Not currently serving a sentence of total confinement under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections for a Washington felony conviction
  • Not currently incarcerated for a federal or out-of-state felony conviction

Read more about who can vote in Washington.

Future voters

16 and 17-year-olds can now pre-register to vote! Registrants under the age of 18 will have their registrations held until they become eligible to vote.

Beginning in 2022, 17-year-olds who are pre-registered to vote will be able to vote in the August Primary Election and Presidential Primaries as long as they turn 18 before the following November General Election. Reference RCW 29A.08.210