Behavioral Health Advisory Committee


The Behavioral Health Advisory Committee serves in an advisory capacity to assist the County in meeting the comprehensive behavioral health planning responsibilities required by applicable laws of the State of Washington Chapter 8.101PCC.

Membership Criteria

The Behavioral Health Advisory Committee Members will be selected for their demonstrated interests in behavioral health system improvement, diverse perspectives and experiences, or specialized expertise and will represent the following, non-exhaustive list:

  • emergency medical service providers; 
  • mental health and chemical dependency providers;
  • large hospitals; 
  • operators of detox and or evaluation and treatment centers; 
  • behavioral health navigator or peer advocates; 
  • providers of homeless and supportive housing;
  • provider of veteran services;
  • Organizations with experience developing or implementing the Pierce County Accountable Care Organization;
  • Organizations or individuals advocating for persons experiencing behavioral health challenges, such as the National Alliance on Mental Illness- Pierce County 

Special consideration is given to those representing more than one sector, including sectors not listed above.

Applicants will be contacted about the next phase of the appointment process.  

The deadline for submitting applications is 4/16/2021.  

Application closed


The Behavioral Health Advisory Committee is chaired by the Director of Human Services and consists of nine (9) voting members and four (4) non-voting members. The four non-voting members are each from the Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department, and the cities of Tacoma, Puyallup and Lakewood. Voting members will be selected based on their demonstrated interest in behavioral health system improvement, diverse perspectives and experiences, or specialized expertise. Members are appointed by the Executive and confirmed by the County Council. The term of service is three years.

The Committee will consist of staggered memberships to ensure continuity. Accordingly, initial members may be appointed to terms of one, two or three years. Applicants will be asked for their preference for initial terms of membership.

Contact Information

Arrika Rayburn

Phone: (253) 798-6936

Send an Email