Pierce County Districting Committee

About the Committee

Districting Committee banner

The Pierce County Council appointed members to the Pierce County Districting Committee Sept. 7, 2021 through adoption of Resolution R2021-157. Under the Pierce County Charter, Council is required to appoint four members to the committee. The members are selected from a list of names submitted by the central committees of the two major political parties in Pierce County.

Committee organization and process

View Sections 4.40, 4.50 and 4.60 of the Pierce County Charter, which outline how the districts are drawn, formation of the Districting Committee, the appointment process, timelines and the process for creation of the new district maps and their adoption. 

Pierce County Districting Committee timeline

Redistricting Process flowchart

Watch the Districting Committee

The Pierce County Districting Committee was appointed Sept. 7, 2021. After the members select a fifth member to serve as the committee chair the committee has 30 days to appoint a Districting Master. View the Districting Master scope of work and application announcement.

The first meeting of the committee is Monday, Sept. 20, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. via Zoom. The public is able to join the meeting virtually with this link or by calling 253-215-8782 and entering Webinar ID 963 5627 6700.

Additional meeting dates and times will be decided following this meeting. Once they are set, they will be listed below.

Meeting date and timeMeeting agenda and materialsMeeting recording
Sept. 20, 2021, 5:30 p.m.Agenda and meeting materialsSept. 20, 2021 meeting
Sept. 28, 2021, 5:30 p.m.Agenda and meeting materialsRecording to come
Sept 29, 2021, 5:30 p.m. (tentative)Meeting materials to comeRecording to come

Committee members

  • Sharon Hanek
  • Justin Leighton
  • Douglas G. Richardson
  • Joy Stanford

Staff liaison:

Susan Long, Chief Counsel

Linda Medley, Code and Legal Clerk