Refugee and Immigrant Affairs

Refugee and Immigration Affairs

The Commission on Refugee and Immigrant Affairs serves all Pierce County residents and acts as an  advisory board to the legislative and executive branches of Pierce County government. The Commission studies and makes recommendations on matters of importance to the refugee and immigrant communities in Pierce County related to employment, public health, civic engagement, economic development, citizenship, student achievement, public safety, criminal justice, language access, and protection of civil rights. 

We're currently recruiting for a member to represent Pierce County Council District #7!

 Important application requirement: Due to membership rules within the Ordinance, we must only recruit Commissioners who reside outside of  Tacoma city limits at this time. 

Board Members
  1. Commission Members
  2. Criteria
  • Gloria Rodriguez, Representing Council District 1
  • Diana Bullen, Representing Council District 2
  • Erasmo Ruiz, Representing Council District 3
  • Jennifer Li Dotson, Representing Council District 4
  • Camila Maturana, Representing Council District 5
  • Alice Fong, Representing Council District 6
  • Vacant, Representing Council District 7
  • Thierry Ruboneka, At-Large Member
  • George Conzuelo, At-Large Member, Representing Youth
Meeting Schedule

The Commission on Refugee and Immigrant Affairs (CRIA) shall hold no less than six regular meetings per year. 

The CRIA will meet on the first Mondays of the month from 5:00 to 6:30 p.m., via Zoom or at 3602 Pacific Avenue, Suite 200, Muckleshoot Conference Room.  In September,  there will be meetings on September 11, 2023 and September 18, 2023. 

If you would like to attend a Commission meeting and require an interpreter, please contact Commission support staff member Stefanie Love, at 253.778.5124, or [email protected] PLEASE NOTE: All interpreter requests should be submitted to Stefanie Love no later than one week before the Commission meeting, so that there is ample time to hire an interpreter. Also, please advise whether you will be attending the Commission meeting virtually or in-person. 

Recording of 2/6/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 3/6/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 4/3/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 5/1/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 6/5/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 7/10/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 8/7/23 Commission Meeting 

Recording of 9/18/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 10/2/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 11/6/23 Commission Meeting

Recording of 12/4/23 Commission Meeting

Join meeting here

Agendas & Notes
  1. Meeting Agendas
  2. Meeting Notes

Ordinance 2021-86

Contact Us

Stefanie Love at 253-778-5124
or [email protected]