Minor Guardianship

To file a new Minor Guardianship (guardianship of a child that you are not the biological parent of) as a self-represented party you will need to bring the following items into the Clerk’s Office for processing…

  1. Completed documents listed in this checklist
  2. 3 sets of copies of documents
  3. $240 cash, debit, money order or cashiers check (fee automatically waived if the petitioning party is related to the minor(s))

Documents can be found by visiting Washington State Courts - Court Forms , Washington Law Help or purchased from the Law Library located on the 1st floor in the County-City building

For assistance with your paperwork you can call the Court Facilitators at (253)798-3627 between 8-9 am to make an appointment. A $20 fee is required for the 30 minute appointment

To terminate an existing Minor Guardianship/3rd Party Custody order please refer to this checklist instead. 

Guardianship Training Links

Minor Guardianship Lay Guardian Training

Minor Guardianship Declaration of Completion