News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/2/2017 11:33:16 AM to 5/3/2017 10:49:32 AM.

News Flash

Assessor-Treasurer

Posted on: November 19, 2015

[ARCHIVED] The Washington State Legislature has changed the Senior/Disabled property tax exemption program by i


The Washington State Legislature has changed the Senior/Disabled property tax exemption program by increasing the maximum annual household income from $35,000 to $40,000. This change is not retroactive, it applies to property taxes due in 2016 and forward only.


You may qualify for property tax relief in 2016, if by December 31, 2015: You are age 61 or older, or you are unable to be gainfully employed because of physical or mental impairment, and you own and occupy a residence or mobile home, and have a gross household income of $40,000 or less.

For more information please stop by our office at the Pierce County Annex, call us at (253) 798-2169, or click on Exemptions and Deferrals using the menu to the left on this website.

NOTE: If you are already enrolled in the exemption program, we have placed you in the correct income category. You will receive either a Renewal or Status Change Notice later in 2016.