News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/8/2021 1:24:10 PM to 4/9/2022 2:00:00 AM.

News Flash

County Council

Posted on: April 8, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Recognizing public health workers and royalty


Description automatically generated

Office of the Pierce County Council


April 8, 2021

The Pierce County Council extended its thanks to public health workers and recognized the 2021 Daffodil Festival Royal Court at its April 6 regular meeting.

In its proclamation recognizing April 5-11, 2021 as National Public Health Week, Council noted the vital role public health awareness played at the frontlines of the response to the COVID-19 pandemic and the countless hours of work public health employees spent over the last year working to keep our community safe and informed.

In its final declaration, Council noted:

“(W)e honor all public health workers for their response during the COVID-19 pandemic and continued dedication to the betterment of our County, and remind all residents to follow the suggestions of the Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department to get tested and vaccinated to help protect against and ultimately eliminate COVID-19.”

Read the full proclamation.

Daffodil Festival Royal Court

A second proclamation was read recognizing this year’s Daffodil princesses, many of whom attended the virtual meeting to receive the proclamation.

In total 23 young women from Pierce County were recognized and officially named ambassadors of Pierce County. Each councilmember read the name of princesses from their district and offered the women the opportunity to share a little about themselves.

Council thanked the women for their leadership and congratulated them on the honor of making the Daffodil Royal Court and being official representatives of Pierce County.

2021 Daffodil Festival Royal Court by Council District

District 1

  • Ava Fritz
  • Haley Isom
  • Liberty Tucker
  • Hailee Englehart
  • Brynne Spicer

District 2

  • Katie Rose Abegglen
  • Guadalupe Perez-Delores
  • Karah Ritter

District 3

  • Lucy Dysart
  • Mackenzie Sunde
  • Angelina Mireles-Mazza
  • Livy Sander

District 4

  • Makesha Conzuelo
  • Annabelle Pepin
  • Joie Goninan
  • Ashley Anita-Barriga

District 5

  • Szoi Stevens
  • Roslyn Addy
  • Jewlieanna Granberry

District 6

  • Lura Shultis
  • Kayala Purdie
  • Annie McAuliffe

District 7

  • Kelsey Monaghan-Bergson

Read the full proclamation.


Other News in County Council

A photo with a paper stamped with the word VETO in red

Pierce County Council Fails to Override Community Needs Fund Veto

Posted on: November 15, 2023 | Last Modified on: January 31, 2017

County Council Meeting to be held in Fife

Posted on: September 27, 2016