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Chapter 4.02 
 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ACCESS TO TAX INFORMATION 
 
 
Section: 
  4.02.010 Department of Revenue Access to Tax Information – Authorization. 

 
4.02.010 Department of Revenue Access to Tax Information – Authorization. 

The Department of Revenue of the State of Washington is hereby authorized to access Pierce 
County's tax information, as set forth in RCW 82.32.330 and RCW 84.40.340, upon substantially 
the same conditions as tax information is authorized to be disclosed by the Department of 
Revenue to Pierce County taxing officials, pursuant to RCW 82.32.330, 84.40.340, and 
42.17.310, as each now exists or is hereinafter amended.  The Pierce County Executive is 
authorized to execute agreements on behalf of the Pierce County Assessor-Treasurer and the 
Director of the Pierce County Department of Budget and Finance with the Department of 
Revenue, consistent with the access herein granted.  Tax information received by Pierce County 
pursuant to such agreements is exempt from disclosure under the Public Records Act remains 
privileged and confidential pursuant to RCW 82.32.330.  (Ord. 95-12 § 1, 1995) 
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Chapter 4.04 
 

GAMBLING TAX 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.04.010 Definitions. 
  4.04.020 Tax Levied. 
  4.04.030 Exemptions From Tax. 
  4.04.040 Procedure for Payment. 
  4.04.050 Administration and Collection. 
  4.04.060 Terms of Acceptance of Payment. 
  4.04.070 Penalties and Interest Charges for Late Payment. 
  4.04.080 Filing Required Before Operation of Taxable Activity. 
  4.04.090 Filing – New Declaration Necessary After License Expiration, Suspension or 

Revocation. 
  4.04.100 Records of Activity Required. 
  4.04.110 Overpayments and Underpayments – Refunds and Penalties. 
  4.04.120 Failure of Taxpayer to File Return – Budget and Finance Department 

Authorized to Set Tax Due. 
  4.04.130 Tax Separate From License Fee. 
  4.04.140 Rules and Regulations – Budget and Finance Department to Adopt, Publish and 

Enforce. 
  4.04.150 Tax Due Constitutes Debt. 
  4.04.160 Three-Year Limit on Recovery. 
  4.04.170 Violations – Penalty. 
  4.04.180 Severability. 
 
  Cross-reference:  Chapter 9.46 RCW 
 
4.04.010 Definitions. 

For the purpose of this Chapter, the words and terms used shall have the same meaning each 
has under Chapter 218, Laws of 1973, 1st Extraordinary Session and RCW Chapter 9.46, each as 
amended, and under the rules of the Washington State Gambling Commission, WAC Chapter 
230, unless otherwise specifically provided or as the context in which they are used clearly 
indicates that they be given some other meaning.  (Prior Code § 9.08.010) 
 
4.04.020 Tax Levied. 

There is levied upon all persons, associations and organizations conducting or operating 
within Pierce County any of the activities listed in this Section, a tax in the following amounts to 
be paid to the County: 

A. Bingo and raffles in the amount of 5 percent of the gross revenue received therefrom 
less the amount paid for or as prizes; 

B. Pulltabs in the amount of 5 percent of the gross receipts directly from the operation of 
the pulltabs themselves.  Beginning January 1, 1998, pulltabs shall be taxed in the 
amount of 2 percent of the gross receipts directly from the operation of the pulltabs 
themselves; 
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C. Punchboards in the amount of 3 percent of the gross receipts from punchboard activities. 
 Beginning January 1, 1998, punchboards shall be taxed in the amount of 2 percent of 
the gross receipts from punchboard activities; 

D. Card playing in the amount of 20 percent of the gross receipts received as fees charged 
persons for the privilege of playing in card games.  Beginning January 1, 1998, card 
playing shall be taxed in the amount of 10 percent of the gross receipts received as fees 
charged persons for the privilege of playing in card games; 

E. Amusement games only to the extent of an amount sufficient to pay the actual costs of 
enforcement of the provisions of this Chapter, and in no event shall such taxation exceed 
2 percent of the gross revenue therefrom, less the amount paid for or as prizes. 

(Ord. 2000-15 § 1, 2000; Ord. 96-113S2 § 1, 1997; Ord. 92-91 § 2, 1992; Prior Code § 9.08.020) 
 
4.04.030 Exemptions From Tax. 

No tax shall be imposed under the authority of this Chapter on bingo, raffles or amusement 
games when such activities, or any combination thereof, are conducted by any bona fide 
charitable or nonprofit organization as defined in RCW 9.46.020(3), and which organization has 
no paid operating or management personnel and has gross income from such activities not 
exceeding $5,000.00 per year less the amount paid for or as prizes.  (Prior Code § 9.08.025) 
 
4.04.040 Procedure for Payment. 

The taxes imposed under this Chapter shall be due and payable in monthly installments and 
remittance therefor shall be made on or before the 15th day of the month next succeeding the end 
of the monthly period in which the tax accrued.  The taxpayer shall, on or before the 15th day of 
said month, make out a return on such forms and setting forth such information as the Pierce 
County Budget and Finance Department may require showing the amount of the tax for which he 
is liable for the preceding monthly period, sign and transmit the same to the Budget and Finance 
Department together with a remittance for such amount, provided: 

A. Whenever any person, association or organization taxable under this Chapter conducting 
or operating a taxable activity on a regular basis terminates the business, sells out or 
otherwise disposes of its business, any tax due under this Chapter shall become due and 
payable and such taxpayer shall within ten days thereafter make a return and pay the tax 
due. 

B. Whenever it appears to the Budget and Finance Department that the collection of taxes 
from any person, association or organization may be in jeopardy, the Budget and 
Finance Department after not less than ten days notice to the taxpayer, is authorized to 
require that the taxpayer remit taxes and returns at such shorter intervals than monthly as 
the Budget and Finance Department shall deem appropriate under the circumstances. 

(Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 9.08.030) 
 
4.04.050 Administration and Collection. 

Administration and collection of the various taxes imposed by this Chapter shall be the 
responsibility of the Budget and Finance Department.  The taxpayer shall be required to swear 
and affirm by signature that the information given in the return is true, accurate and complete 
under penalty of perjury.  The Budget and Finance Department is authorized but not required to 
mail to taxpayers forms for returns.  Failure of the taxpayer to receive such a form shall not 
excuse the taxpayer from making the return and timely paying all taxes due.  The Budget and  



Title 4 - Revenue and Finance 

4.04 -- 3 

4.04.060 
 
Finance Department shall make forms available to the public in reasonable numbers in the 
Budget and Finance office during regular business hours.  Along with the tax remittance and 
return form for each month ending a calendar quarter year, each taxpayer shall submit to the 
Budget and Finance Department a copy of his quarterly report to the Washington State Gambling 
Commission required by WAC 230-08 as now or hereafter amended.  (Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 
1984; prior Code § 9.08.040) 
 
4.04.060 Terms of Acceptance of Payment. 

Taxes payable under this Chapter shall be remitted to the Budget and Finance Department on 
or before the time required by bank draft, certified check, cashier's check, personal check, money 
order or in cash.  If payment is made by a draft or check the tax shall not be deemed paid until 
the draft or check is accepted in the usual course of business.  Nor shall the acceptance of any 
sum of the Budget and Finance Department be an acquittance or discharge of the tax unless the 
amount paid is the full amount due.  The return and copy of the quarterly report to the 
Washington State Gambling Commission shall be filed with the Budget and Finance Department 
after notation of that office upon the return of the amount actually received.  (Ord. 84-16 § 1 
(part), 1984; prior Code § 9.08.050) 
 
4.04.070 Penalties and Interest Charges for Late Payment. 

A. If full payment of any tax or fee due under this Chapter is not received by the Budget 
and Finance Department on or before the date due, there shall be added to the amount 
due a penalty fee as follows: 
1. One through ten days late:  10 percent; 
2. Eleven through twenty days late:  15 percent of tax due; 
3. Twenty-one through thirty days late:  20 percent of tax due; 
4. Thirty-one through sixty days late:  25 percent of tax due. 

B. In addition to the penalty set out in subsection A. of this Section, the Budget and 
Finance Department shall charge the taxpayer interest for all taxes and fees due at the 
rate of 1 percent per month or portion thereof that the amounts are past due.  Failure to 
make payment in full of all tax amounts and penalties within 60 days following the day 
the tax amount initially became due shall be both a civil and a criminal violation of this 
Section. 

(Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 9.08.060) 
 
4.04.080 Filing Required Before Operation of Taxable Activity. 

In order that the County may identify those persons who are subject to taxation under this 
Chapter, each person, association or organization shall file with the Budget and Finance 
Department a sworn declaration of intent to conduct an activity taxable under this Chapter upon 
a form to be prescribed by the Budget and Finance Department together with a copy of the 
license issued therefor by the Washington State Gambling Commission.  The filing shall be 
made not later than 15 days prior to conducting or operating the taxable activity.  No fee shall be 
charged for such filing which is not for the purpose of regulation of this activity but for the 
purposes of administration of this taxing Chapter only.  Failure to timely file shall not excuse 
any person, association or organization from tax liability.  (Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior 
Code § 9.08.070) 
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4.04.090 Filing – New Declaration Necessary After License Expiration, Suspension or 

Revocation. 
A new declaration of intent to conduct or operate any of the activities taxable under this 

Chapter shall be required prior to the recommencement of the activity following the expiration, 
suspension or revocation of any license previously issued by the Washington State Gambling 
Commission in the same manner as described in Section 4.04.080.  (Prior Code § 9.08.080) 
 
4.04.100 Records of Activity Required. 

Each person, association or organization engaging in an activity taxable under this Chapter 
shall maintain records respecting that activity which truly, completely and accurately disclose all 
information necessary to determine the taxpayer's tax liability under this Chapter during each 
base tax period.  Such records shall be kept and maintained for a period of not less than three 
years.  In addition, all information and items required by the Washington State Gambling 
Commission under WAC 230-08 and the United States Internal Revenue Service respecting 
taxation shall be kept and maintained for the period required by those agencies.  All books, 
records and other items required to be kept and maintained under this Section shall be subject to 
and immediately made available for inspection and audit during normal business hours with or 
without notice at the place where such records are kept on demand by the Budget and Finance 
Department, the Prosecuting Attorney or the Auditor or their designees for the purpose of 
enforcing the provisions of this taxing Chapter.  Failure of a taxpayer to keep books and records 
as required by this Section shall be a bar to contesting the assessment of taxes as estimated by 
the Budget and Finance Department.  Where a taxpayer does not keep all of the books, records or 
items required to be kept or maintained under this Section in this jurisdiction so that the above 
state officials or their designees may examine them conveniently, the taxpayer shall either: 

A. Produce all of the required books, records or items within this jurisdiction for such 
inspection within five days following a request of the above officials that he do so; or 

B. Bear the actual cost of inspection by the above officials or their designees at the location 
where such books, records or items are located, provided that a taxpayer choosing to 
bear these costs shall pay in advance to the above-stated officials or their designees the 
estimated costs thereof, including, but not limited to, round trip fare by the most rapid 
means, lodging, meals and incidental expenses; the actual amount due or to be refunded 
for expenses shall be determined following said examination of the records. 

(Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 9.08.090) 
 
4.04.110 Overpayments and Underpayments – Refunds and Penalties. 

If upon application by a taxpayer for a refund or for an audit of his records or upon any 
examination of the returns or records of any taxpayer it is determined by the Budget and Finance 
Department that within three years immediately preceding receipt by the Budget and Finance 
Department of the application by the taxpayer for a refund or an audit in the absence of such an 
application within the three years immediately preceding the commencement by the Budget and 
Finance Department of such examination: 
 A. A tax or other fee has been paid in excess of that properly due, the total excess paid over 

all amounts due to the County within such period of three years shall be credited to the 
taxpayers's account or shall be refunded to the taxpayer at the taxpayer's option.  No 
refund or credit shall be allowed with respect to the Budget and Finance Department for 
more than three years before the date of such application for examination. 
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B. A tax or other fee has been paid which is less than that properly due or no tax or other 
fee has been paid, the Budget and Finance Department shall mail a statement by 
certified mail to the taxpayer showing the balance due including the tax amount of the 
penalty, assessments and fees, and it shall be a separate additional violation of this 
Chapter if a taxpayer fails to make a payment in full within ten calendar days of such 
mailing. 

(Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 9.08.100) 
 
4.04.120 Failure of Taxpayer to File Return – Budget and Finance Department 

Authorized to Set Tax Due. 
If any taxpayer fails, neglects or refuses to make and file his return as and when required 

under this Chapter, the Budget and Finance Department is authorized to determine the amount of 
tax payable together with any penalty and/or interest assessed under the provisions of this 
Chapter and by certified mail to notify such taxpayer of the amount so determined, which 
amount shall thereupon become the tax penalty and/or interest and shall become immediately 
due and payable.  (Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 9.08.110) 
 
4.04.130 Tax Separate From License Fee. 

The tax levied in this Chapter shall be additional to any license fee or tax imposed or levied 
under any law or any other resolution of the County except as otherwise expressly provided in 
this Chapter.  (Prior Code § 9.08.120) 
 
4.04.140 Rules and Regulations – Budget and Finance Department to Adopt, Publish and 

Enforce. 
The Budget and Finance Department shall have the power and it shall be its duty from time 

to time to adopt, publish and enforce rules and regulations not inconsistent with this Chapter or 
with superior law for the purposes of carrying out the provisions hereof and it shall be unlawful 
to violate or fail to comply with any such rule or regulations.  (Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior 
Code § 9.08.130) 
 
4.04.150 Tax Due Constitutes Debt. 

Any tax due and unpaid under this Chapter and all penalties or fees shall constitute a debt to 
Pierce County, a legal subdivision of the State of Washington, and may be collected by court 
proceedings the same as any other debt in like amount which shall be in addition to all other 
existing remedies.  (Prior Code § 9.08.140) 
 
4.04.160 Three-Year Limit on Recovery. 

The right of recovery by the County from the taxpayer for any tax provided under this 
Chapter shall be outlawed after the expiration of three calendar years from the date said tax 
became due.  The right of recovery against the County because of overpayment of tax by any 
taxpayer shall be outlawed after the expiration of three calendar years from the date such 
payment was made.  (Prior Code § 9.08.150) 

 
4.04.170 Violations – Penalty. 

Any person violating or failing to comply with any of the provisions of this Chapter or any 
lawful rule or regulation adopted by the Budget and Finance Department pursuant thereto and 
upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine in a sum not to exceed $300.00 or by 
imprisonment in the Pierce County Jail for a term not exceeding 90 days or by both such fine and 
imprisonment.  Any taxpayer who engages in or carries on any gambling activities subject to a 
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tax under this Chapter without having complied with the provisions of this Chapter shall be 
guilty of a violation of this Chapter for each day in which the gambling activity is carried on.  
(Ord. 84-16 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 9.08.160)  
 
4.04.180 Severability. 

If any provision of this Chapter or its application to any person or circumstance is held 
invalid, the remainder of the Chapter or the application of the provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected.  (Ord. 89-155 § 6, 1989) 
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Chapter 4.08 
 

HARVESTERS OF TIMBER – EXCISE TAX 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.08.010 Tax Imposed. 
  4.08.020 Determination of Tax. 
  4.08.030 Administration and Collection. 
  4.08.040 Timber Tax Account. 
  4.08.050 Contract With Department of Revenue. 
  4.08.060 Agreement to Inspection of Records. 
  4.08.070 Effective Date. 
 
4.08.010 Tax Imposed. 

There is imposed and shall be collected, on and after January 1, 2005, an excise tax on every 
person in the County engaging in business as a harvester as defined by RCW 84.33.035.  The tax 
shall be paid, collected and remitted to the Department of Revenue of the State of Washington at 
the time and in the manner prescribed by RCW 84.33.086.  (Ord. 2004-124 § 2 (part), 2004; Ord. 
89-218 § 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-113 § 1, 1984) 
 
4.08.020 Determination of Tax. 

The tax shall be equal to the stumpage value of the timber, as defined in RCW 84.33.035, 
harvested from privately owned land within the County, multiplied by a rate of 4 percent, and 
harvested from publicly owned land within the County, multiplied by the following rates: 

A. For timber harvested January 1, 2005, through December 31, 2005, 1.2 percent; 
B. For timber harvested January 1, 2006, through December 31, 2006, 1.5 percent; 
C. For timber harvested January 1, 2007, through December 31, 2007, 1.8 percent; 
D. For timber harvested January 1, 2008, through December 31, 2008, 2.1 percent; 
E. For timber harvested January 1, 2009, through December 31, 2009, 2.4 percent; 
F. For timber harvested January 1, 2010, through December 31, 2010, 2.7 percent; 
G. For timber harvested January 1, 2011, through December 31, 2011, 3.1 percent; 
H. For timber harvested January 1, 2012, through December 31, 2012, 3.4 percent; 
I. For timber harvested January 1, 2013, through December 31, 2013, 3.7 percent; 
J. For timber harvested January 1, 2014, and thereafter, 4.0 percent. 
Any harvester, as defined in RCW 84.33.035, incurring less than $10.00 tax liability in any 

calendar quarter, is excused from the payment of the tax imposed by Section 4.08.010, but may 
be required by the Department of Revenue to file a return even though no tax may be due.  (Ord. 
2004-124 § 2 (part), 2004; Ord. 89-218 § 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-113 § 2, 1984) 
 
4.08.030 Administration and Collection. 

The administration and collection of the tax imposed by this Chapter shall be in accordance 
with the provisions of RCW Chapter 84.33 and all Sections of RCW Chapter 82.32 (as now 
existing or hereafter amended), except RCW 82.32.045 and 82.32.270, shall apply with reference 
to the taxes imposed under this Chapter.  (Ord. 89-218 § 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-113 § 3, 1984) 
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4.08.040 Timber Tax Account. 

There is created a County timber tax account for deposit of moneys distributed to the County 
as provided by RCW 84.33.081(1).  (Ord. 89-218 § 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-113 § 4, 1984) 
 
4.08.050 Contract With Department of Revenue. 

The Pierce County Executive is authorized to contract with the Department of Revenue 
(prior to the effective date of this Chapter) for the administration and collection of the tax 
imposed by Section 4.08.010 and to provide in such agreement for payment of the costs of 
collection and administration incurred by the Department of Revenue as directed in RCW 
84.33.081.  The Prosecuting Attorney of the County shall first approve the form and content of 
the contract.  (Ord. 89-218 § 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-113 § 5, 1984) 
 
4.08.060 Agreement to Inspection of Records. 

The County agrees to give to the Department of Revenue such facts and information and to 
permit the Department to inspect its records in connection with the imposition, collection and 
administration of the tax imposed by Section 4.08.010, as may be necessary to permit the County 
to obtain facts and information from, and inspect the records of, the Department of Revenue to 
facilitate the administration of the tax and insure the correct distribution of its proceeds as 
provided by RCW Chapter 84.33.  (Ord. 89-218 § 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-113 § 6, 1984) 
 
4.08.070 Effective Date. 

This Chapter shall take effect January 1, 2005.  (Ord. 2004-124 § 2 (part), 2004; Ord. 89-218 
§ 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-113 § 9, 1984) 
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Chapter 4.12 
 

LEASEHOLD EXCISE TAX 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.12.010 Levy of Tax. 
  4.12.020 Rate of Tax. 
  4.12.030 Tax Credit Allowed. 
  4.12.040 Administration and Collection. 
  4.12.050 Exemptions. 
  4.12.060 Inspection of Records. 
  4.12.070 Severability. 
 
  Cross-references:  Chapter 82.29A RCW; RCW 82.32.330 
 
4.12.010 Levy of Tax. 

There is levied and shall be collected a leasehold excise tax on and after January 1, 1976, 
upon the act or privilege of occupying or using publicly owned real or personal property within 
the County through a "leasehold interest" as defined by Section 2, Chapter 61, Laws of 1975-76, 
Second Extraordinary Session (referred to in this Chapter as the "State Act").  The tax shall be 
paid, collected, and remitted to the Department of Revenue of the State at the time and in the 
manner prescribed by Section 5 of the State Act.  (Prior Code § 9.10.010) 
 
4.12.020 Rate of Tax. 

The rate of the tax imposed by Section 4.12.010 shall be 6 percent of the taxable rent (as 
defined by Section 2 of the State Act); provided, that the following credits shall be allowed in 
determining the tax payable: 

A. With respect to a leasehold interest arising out of any lease or agreement, the terms of 
which were binding on the lessee prior to July 1, 1970, where such lease or agreement 
has not been renegotiated (as defined by Section 2 of the State Act) since that date, and 
excluding from such credit (1) any leasehold interest arising out of any lease of property 
covered by the provisions of RCW 28B.20.394 and (2) any lease or agreement including 
options to renew which extends beyond January 1, 1985, as follows: 
With respect to taxes due in calendar year 1976, a credit equal to 80 percent of the tax 

produced by the above rate; 
With respect to taxes due in calendar year 1977, a credit equal to 60 percent of the tax 

produced by the above rate; 
With respect to taxes due in calendar year 1978, a credit equal to 40 percent of the tax 

produced by the above rate; 
With respect to taxes due in calendar year 1979, a credit equal to 20 percent of the tax 

produced by the above rate. 
B. With respect to a product lease (as defined by Section 2 of the State Act), a credit of 33 

percent of the tax produced by the above rate. 
(Prior Code § 9.10.020) 
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4.12.030 Tax Credit Allowed. 

There shall be allowed against the tax otherwise imposed by this Chapter a credit for the full 
amount of any leasehold excise tax authorized by Section 4 of the State Act and imposed upon 
the same taxable event by any city or town.  (Prior Code § 9.10.030) 
 
4.12.040 Administration and Collection. 

The administration and collection of the tax imposed by this Chapter shall be in accordance 
with the provisions of the State Act.  (Prior Code § 9.10.040) 
 
4.12.050 Exemptions. 

Leasehold interests exempted by Section 13 of the State Act as it now exists or may hereafter 
be amended shall be exempt from the tax imposed pursuant to Section 4.12.010.  (Prior Code 
§ 9.10.050) 
 
4.12.060 Inspection of Records. 

The County consents to the inspection of such records as are necessary to qualify the County 
for inspection of records of the Department of Revenue pursuant to RCW 82.32.330.  (Prior 
Code § 9.10.060) 
 
4.12.070 Severability. 

If any provision of this Chapter or its application to any person or circumstance is held 
invalid, the remainder of the Chapter or the application of the provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected.  (Ord. 89-155 § 7, 1989) 
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Chapter 4.14 
 

CONSERVATION FUTURES PROPERTY TAX LEVY 
 
 
Section: 
  4.14.010 Real Property Tax Levy Imposed. 
 
4.14.010 Real Property Tax Levy Imposed.  

Pursuant to RCW 84.34.230, there is hereby imposed a real property tax levy to be applied 
against all taxable property within Pierce County.  The levy shall be applied at a rate of six and 
one-quarter cents per thousand dollars of assessed valuation.  All monies levied pursuant to this 
tax shall be deposited in the Conservation Futures Fund, PCC 4.48.020 I.  (Ord. 92-145 § 1, 
1992; Ord. 91-65 § 1, 1991) 
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Chapter 4.16 
 

LODGING FACILITIES EXCISE TAX 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.16.010 Imposition of Special Excise Tax. 
  4.16.020 Definitions. 
  4.16.030 Administration – Collection. 
  4.16.040 Credit. 
  4.16.050 Taxes Imposed are Additional. 
  4.16.060 Payment of Taxes – Deduction. 
  4.16.070 Violations. 
  4.16.080 Establishment of a Special Fund. 
  4.16.090 Effective Date of Tax. 
  4.16.100 Severability. 
 
4.16.010 Imposition of Special Excise Tax. 

A. There is imposed a special excise tax of 2 percent on the sale of or charge made for the 
furnishing of lodging by a hotel, rooming house, tourist court, motel, or trailer camp, or 
the granting of any similar license to use real property, as distinguished from the renting 
or leasing of real property; provided, that it shall be presumed that the occupancy of real 
property for a continuous period of one month or more constitutes a rental or lease of 
real property and not a mere license to use or to enjoy the same. 

B. In addition to that tax imposed and levied at subsection 4.16.010 A. above, the Council 
of Pierce County, acting pursuant to the authority of with the purposes stated at Chapter 
483, Washington Laws of 1987, hereby imposes and levies a special excise tax of 2 
percent on the sale of or charge made for the furnishing of lodging by a hotel, rooming 
house, tourist court, motel, or trailer camp, or the granting of any similar license to use 
real property, as distinguished from the renting or leasing of real property; provided, that 
it shall be presumed that the occupancy of real property for a continuous period of one 
month or more constitutes a rental or lease of real property and not a mere license to use 
or to enjoy the same. 

C. The Council of Pierce County, acting pursuant to the authority of and with the purposes 
stated at Chapter 452, Laws of 1997, Chapter 35, Laws of 1998, and Chapter 67.28 
RCW there is imposed an excise tax of 7 percent on the sale or charge made for the 
furnishing of lodging by a hotel, motel or trailer camp or the granting of any similar 
license to use real property; provided, that it shall be presumed that the occupancy of 
real property for a continuous period of one month or more constitutes a rental or lease 
of real property and not a mere license to use or to enjoy the same.  This tax is imposed 
in lieu of the tax imposed pursuant to PCC 4.16.010 A. and B. 

D. Lodging facilities having 25 or fewer units shall be exempt from the collection of 
3 percent of the tax imposed under this Chapter. 

E. The tax paid pursuant to this subsection shall be credited against the amount of sales tax 
due to the State under Chapter 82.08 RCW on the same sale of lodging, but the credit for 
taxes imposed under this Section shall not exceed 2 percent.  The revenue raised 
pursuant to this subsection shall be used for tourism promotion or funding tourism-
related capital facilities.   
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E. Definitions. 
1. "Tourism" as used in this subsection is defined as economic activity resulting from 

tourists which may include overnight lodgings, meals, gifts, and souvenirs. 
2. "Tourism promotion" as used in this subsection means activities and expenditures 

designed to increase tourism, including but not limited to advertising, publicizing, or 
otherwise distributing information for the purpose of attracting and welcoming 
tourists; developing strategies to expand tourism; operating tourism promotion 
agencies; and funding marketing of special events and festivals designed to attract 
tourists.   

3. "A tourism-related facility" means property with a usable life of three or more years 
or constructed with volunteer labor, used to support tourism, performing arts or 
accommodate tourist activities. 

G. Whenever the County proposes the imposition of a new tax under Chapter 452, 
Washington Laws of 1997, an increase in the rate of said tax, the repeal of said tax, or a 
change in the use of revenue received from said tax, the County shall submit the 
proposal to the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee (Committee), established pursuant to 
Chapter 2.93 PCC, for review and comment.  The submission shall occur at least 45 
days before final action on the proposal by the Council. 

The Committee’s comments shall be submitted to the Council in a timely manner 
and shall include an analysis of the extent to which the proposal will accommodate 
activities for tourists or increase tourism, and the extent to which the proposal will affect 
the long term stability of the Tourism Promotion and Capital Facilities Fund. 

Failure of the Committee to submit comments before final action by the Council on a 
new proposal shall not prevent the municipality from acting on the proposal.  The 
County is not required to submit an amended proposal to the Committee. 

(Ord. 98-100 § 1 (part), 1998; Ord. 97-20S2 § 2 (part), 1997; Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987; Ord. 
81-17 § 2 (part), 1981; prior Code § 9.12.010) 
 
4.16.020 Definitions. 

The definitions of "selling price," "seller," "buyer," "consumer," and all other definitions as 
are now contained in RCW 82.08.010, and subsequent amendments thereto, are adopted as the 
definitions for the taxes levied herein.  (Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987; Ord. 81-17 § 2 (part), 
1981; prior Code § 9.12.020) 
 
4.16.030 Administration – Collection. 

For the purposes of the tax levied in this Chapter: 
A. The Washington State Department of Revenue is designated as the agent of the County 

for the purpose of collection and administration. 
B. The administrative provisions contained in RCW 82.08.050 through 82.08.070 and in 

RCW Chapter 82.32 shall apply with respect to administration and collection by the 
Department. 

C. All rules and regulations adopted by the Department of Revenue for the administration 
of RCW Chapter 82.08 are adopted. 

D. The Department is empowered, on behalf of the County, to prescribe such special forms 
and reporting procedures as the Department may deem necessary. 

(Ord. 81-17 § 2 (part), 1981; Res. 21334 § 1 (part), 1979; prior Code § 9.12.030) 
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4.16.040 Credit. 

There shall be allowed against the taxes imposed by this Chapter a credit for the full amount 
of any city tax imposed pursuant to RCW Chapter 67.28 upon the same taxable event upon 
which a tax is imposed by this Chapter.  (Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987; Ord. 81-17 § 2 (part), 
1981; prior Code § 9.12.040) 
 
4.16.050 Taxes Imposed Are Additional. 

The special excise tax herein levied in this Chapter shall be in addition to any license fee or 
any tax imposed or levied under any law or any other resolution or ordinance of the County.  
(Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987; Ord. 81-17 § 2 (part), 1981; prior Code § 9.12.050) 
 
4.16.060 Payment of Taxes – Deduction. 

Any seller who is required to collect the special excise tax levied in this Chapter shall pay 
over such tax to the Washington State Department of Revenue, acting on behalf of the County 
for the County's account.  Tax paid pursuant to the provisions of Section 4.16.010 A. of the 
Pierce County Code shall be deducted from the amount of tax such seller would otherwise be 
required to collect and to pay over to the Washington State Department of Revenue under RCW 
82.08 as required by the provisions of RCW 67.28.190.  The deduction from State taxes under 
RCW 67.28.190 does not apply to taxes imposed under Section 4.16.010 B. of the Pierce County 
Code.  (Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987; Ord. 81-17 § 2 (part), 1981; prior Code § 9.12.070) 
 
4.16.070 Violations. 

Any person, firm, or corporation violating, or failing to comply with any of the provisions of 
this Chapter or any lawful rule or regulation adopted thereto shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, 
and upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $500.00, or by 
imprisonment in the Pierce County Jail for a period of not more than six months or by both such 
fine and imprisonment.  Each separate period, sale or charge for which this Chapter is violated 
shall be considered a separate offense.  (Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987; Ord. 81-17 § 2 (part), 
1981; prior Code § 9.12.090) 
 
4.16.080 Establishment of a Special Fund. 

A. There is hereby created a special fund in the treasury of Pierce County to be known as 
the Stadium, Convention, and Tourist Attraction Facilities Fund.  All tax collected 
pursuant to Pierce County Code Section 4.16.010 A. shall be placed in such fund for the 
purpose of paying all or any part of the cost of acquisition, construction, or operating of 
stadium facilities, convention center facilities, or to pay or secure the payment of all or 
any portion of general obligation bonds or revenue bonds issued for the purpose or 
purposes as specified herein, and additionally to pay for advertising, publicizing, or 
otherwise distributing information for the purpose of attracting visitors and encouraging 
tourist expansion, and until withdrawn for use, the monies accumulated in such fund 
may be invested in interest-bearing securities by the Director of Budget and Finance in 
any manner authorized by law. 
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 B. Visitor and Convention Promotion Fund.  There is hereby established in the treasury of 
Pierce County a Special Visitor and Convention Promotions Fund, into which all sums 
received as a result of the levy under Pierce County Code Section 4.16.010 B. be and 
shall be paid.  Such sums as are deposited in said visitor and convention promotions 
fund shall be used only for the purpose of visitor and convention promotions and 
development, and until withdrawn for such use, monies accumulated in such fund may 
be invested in interest bearing securities by the Director of Budget and Finance in any 
manner authorized by law. 

C. There is hereby created a special fund in the treasury of Pierce County, effective January 
1, 1998, to be known as the Tourism Promotion and Capital Facilities Fund.  All funds 
raised as a result of the excise tax imposed on the sale or charge made for the furnishing 
of lodging by a hotel, motel or trailer camp pursuant to Pierce County Code Chapter 
4.16 shall be placed in such fund effective January 1, 1998, for the purpose of funding 
tourism promotion or tourism-related capital facilities. Said funds shall be subject to 
appropriation by the Pierce County Council after considering recommendations made by 
the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee.  Until January 1, 1998, revenue collected 
pursuant to this Ordinance shall be deposited in existing funds pursuant to PCC 
4.16.080 A. and B. 

(Ord. 97-20S2 § 1 (part), 1997; Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987) 
 
4.16.090 Effective Date of Tax. 

The effective date of the tax herein imposed at subsection 4.16.010 B. shall be November 1, 
1987, and such tax shall be due and payable to Pierce County on such date and all days 
following, to be collected as heretofore provided. 

The effective date of the increase in the tax from 4 to 7 percent herein imposed at subsection 
4.16.010 C. shall be January 1, 1999, and such tax shall be due and payable to Pierce County on 
such date and all days following, to be collected as heretofore provided. 
(Ord. 98-100 § 1 (part), 1998; Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987) 
 
4.16.100 Severability. 

If any provision of this Chapter or its application to any person or circumstance is held 
invalid, the remainder of the Chapter or the application of the provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected.  (Ord. 89-155 § 8, 1989) 
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Chapter 4.18 
 

TOURISM PROMOTION AREA SPECIAL ASSESSMENT 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.18.010 Fee Imposed. 
  4.18.020 Area Included. 
  4.18.030 Zones and Special Assessments. 
  4.18.040 Collection. 
  4.18.050 Use of Revenues. 
  4.18.060 Effective Date. 
 
4.18.010 Fee Imposed. 
 Pursuant to RCW 35.101 a special assessment for the furnishing of lodging is imposed on 
operators of lodging businesses taxable by the state under Chapter 82.08 RCW that have 40 or more 
lodging units.  (Ord. 2009-110s § 1 (part), 2010) 
 
4.18.020 Area Included. 
 The area within the TPA includes all of unincorporated Pierce County and the area within the 
incorporated city limits of the cities of DuPont, Fife, Gig Harbor, Lakewood, Puyallup, Sumner and 
Tacoma.  (Ord. 2009-110s § 1 (part), 2010) 
 
4.18.030 Zones and Special Assessments. 

A. The Zones and Special Assessments (TPA Special Assessments) to be imposed on the 
operators of lodging businesses, as defined by RCW 35.101.010(3) and the Interlocal 
Agreement for Establishment of a Tourism Promotion Area, are as follows: 

 

ZONE A Tacoma $1.50 per occupied room/day 

ZONE B Lakewood, Puyallup $1.00 per occupied room/day 

ZONE C DuPont, Fife, Gig Harbor, 
Sumner, Pierce County 

$0.50 per occupied room/day 

ZONE D Zone D $0.00 per occupied room/day 

 
1. Zone A.  Zone A encompasses those lodging businesses located within the area of the 

incorporated city limits of the City of Tacoma. 
2. Zone B.   Zone B encompasses those lodging businesses located within the area of the 

incorporated city limits of Puyallup and Lakewood. 
3. Zone C.   Zone C encompasses all lodging businesses located outside Zones A and B, but 

within the unincorporated area of Pierce County or within the area of the incorporated city 
limits of Gig Harbor, DuPont, Fife and Sumner. 

4. Zone D.   Zone D encompasses lodging businesses located within the Tourism Promotion 
Area, as that term is addressed in WAC 458-20-166 as it presently exists or may be 
hereinafter amended, other than hotels, motels, and bed and breakfast facilities.  Lodging 
businesses within this zone, as addressed in WAC 458-20-166, would include only: 
a. Trailer camps and recreational vehicle parks which charge for the rental of space to 

transients for locating or parking house trailers, campers, recreational vehicles, mobile 
homes, and tents;
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b. Educational institutions which sell overnight lodging to persons other than students; 
c. Private lodging houses, dormitories and bunkhouses operated by or on behalf of 

businesses and industrial firms or schools solely for the accommodation of employees 
of such firms or students which are not held out to the public as a place where sleeping 
accommodations may be obtained; and 

d. Guest ranches or summer camps which, in addition to supplying meals and lodging, 
offer special recreational facilities and instruction in sports, boating, riding and 
outdoor living. 

B. The TPA Special Assessments imposed under this section are not a tax on the “sale of 
lodging” for the purposes of RCW 82.14.410. 

C. The charges imposed under this Section are in addition to the special assessments that may be 
levied under RCW 35.87A. 

(Ord. 2009-110s § 1 (part), 2010) 
 
4.18.040 Collection. 
 Pierce County will contract with the Washington State Department of Revenue, pursuant to 
RCW 35.101.090, who shall administer the TPA Special Assessments authorized under this 
section and shall deposit the TPA Special Assessments collected into the local tourism 
promotion account created in the custody of the state treasurer under RCW 35.101.100.  The 
State Treasurer has the authority to distribute the money from the tourism promotion account to 
Pierce County on a monthly basis.  (Ord. 2009-110s § 1 (part), 2010) 
 
4.18.050 Use of Revenues. 
 Revenues derived from TPA Special Assessments imposed under this section shall be used 
only for the following purposes: 

A. The general promotion of tourism within Pierce County as specified in the TPA business 
plan to be adopted annually; and 

B. The marketing of convention and trade shows that benefit local tourism and the lodging 
businesses in the Pierce County Tourism Promotion Area; and 

C. The marketing of Pierce County to the travel industry in order to benefit local tourism 
and the lodging businesses in the Pierce County Tourism Promotion Area; and 

D. The marketing of Pierce County to recruit sporting events in order to promote local 
tourism and to benefit the lodging businesses and tourism industry within the Pierce 
County Tourism Promotion Area; and 

E. Direct administration costs associated with management and maintenance of the TPA 
program, including but not limited to staff costs, public notice advertising, accounting 
and auditing, as approved by the TPA Hotel Commission and the Pierce County 
Council, provided no funds will be used for the general operations of the TPA Manager 
or other costs not directly related to operation of the Tourism Promotion Area. 

(Ord. 2009-110s § 1 (part), 2010) 
 
4.18.060 Effective Date. 

The effective date of the special assessment herein imposed at Section 4.18.010 shall be 
April 1, 2010.  (Ord. 2009-110s § 1 (part), 2010) 
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Chapter 4.20 
 

PROPERTY TAX 
 
Sections: 
 

ARTICLE I.  ASSESSMENT OF REAL AND PERSONAL PROPERTY 

 
  4.20.010 Assessor-Treasurer to Prepare Statements of Fair and True Value. 
 
 

ARTICLE II.  REDUCTION OF ASSESSMENTS – DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY 

 
  4.20.020 Application for Reduction – Eligibility. 
  4.20.030 Application for Reduction – Procedure. 
  4.20.040 Duty of Assessor-Treasurer. 
  4.20.050 Request for Hearing. 
  4.20.060 Abatement Order or Refund. 
 
 

ARTICLE I.  ASSESSMENT OF REAL AND PERSONAL PROPERTY 

 
4.20.010 Assessor-Treasurer to Prepare Statements of Fair and True Value. 

A. The Pierce County Assessor-Treasurer shall each year, upon receipt from the State 
Department of Revenue of the certificate of the assessed valuation of railroad and/or 
other companies assessed by the Department and apportioned to the County, distribute 
the value so certified to the County taxing districts which are entitled to a proportionate 
value thereof and place the same upon the County assessment rolls. 

B. At this time the County Assessor-Treasurer shall prepare and record statements of the 
total fair and true value of all taxable real and personal property, including the value of 
real and personal property assessed and certified to the County Assessor-Treasurer by 
the State Department of Revenue for each taxing district within or coextensive with the 
boundaries of the County.  The statements of the total fair and true value of all taxable 
real and personal property within each taxing district shall be compiled from the last 
completed and balanced assessment rolls of the County preceding the date of preparing 
such statements. 

(Ord. 89-193S § 1 (part), 1990; Ord. 84-54 § 1, 1984; prior Code § 9.18.010) 
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ARTICLE II.  REDUCTION OF ASSESSMENTS – DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY 

 
4.20.020 Application for Reduction – Eligibility. 
Any owner or contract purchaser of real or personal property which has been placed upon the 
assessment roll as of January 1 of that year and which is destroyed, in whole or in part, or is in 
an area that has been declared a disaster area by the Governor and has been reduced in value by 
more than 20 percent may apply for a reduction of assessment.  (Ord. 89-193S § 1 (part), 1990) 
 
4.20.030 Application for Reduction – Procedure. 

A. An application for a reduction must be filed within three years of the date of the 
destruction or reduction in value of real or personal property. 

B. The taxpayer shall notify the Assessor-Treasurer of his or her intention to claim relief in 
writing, using a form provided by the Assessor-Treasurer and prepared by the State 
Department of Revenue.  

(Ord. 89-193S § 1 (part), 1990) 
 
4.20.040 Duty of Assessor-Treasurer. 

Within 30 days after receiving a taxpayer's claim, the Assessor-Treasurer shall calculate the 
amount of reduction, if any, to which the taxpayer may be entitled and shall notify the taxpayer 
of his or her determination.  (Ord. 89-193S § 1 (part), 1990) 
 
4.20.050 Request for Hearing. 

If the taxpayer disagrees with the determination made by the Assessor-Treasurer, he or she 
may, within 60 days after receiving a copy of the Assessor-Treasurer's determination, compute 
and submit his or her own determination, together with a request for a hearing to the County 
Board of Equalization.  (Ord. 2005-69 §1, 2005; Ord. 89-193S § 1 (part), 1990) 
 
4.20.060 Abatement Order or Refund. 

If an abatement is ordered, the Assessor-Treasurer shall make the necessary adjustments to 
the assessment and tax rolls, and the necessary entries required by the order in the records of his 
or her office.  If any refund is made, the County's general fund shall be reimbursed from the 
several taxing districts affected from the next taxes due for distribution to such districts.  (Ord. 
89-193S § 1 (part), 1990; Res. 17741 § 6, 1975) 
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Chapter 4.24 
 

COUNTY EXCISE TAX ON REAL ESTATE SALES 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.24.010 Imposition of Tax. 
  4.24.015 Imposition of Additional Tax. 
  4.24.020 Collection. 
  4.24.030 Tax is Seller's Obligation – Choice of Remedies. 
  4.24.040 Tax as a Lien – Foreclosure. 
  4.24.050 Payment of Tax – Evidence of Payment – Recording. 
  4.24.060 Distribution and Disposition of Proceeds of Tax Imposed Under PCC 4.24.010. 
 
  Cross-references:  Chapters 36.88, 82.45, 82.46, 86.12 RCW 
 
4.24.010 Imposition of Tax. 

There is imposed on each sale of real property situated in the unincorporated areas of the 
County a tax equal to one-quarter of one percent of the selling price effective January 1, 1986.  
(Ord. 85-204S § 1 (part), 1985) 
 
4.24.015 Imposition of Additional Tax. 
 There is imposed an additional excise tax on each sale of real property in the unincorporated 
areas of Pierce County at a rate of one quarter of one percent of the selling price effective 
January 1, 2002. 
 A. Revenues generated from the tax imposed by this Section shall be used solely for 

financing capital projects specified in Title 19E PCC, the Capital Facilities Element of 
the Pierce County Comprehensive Plan.  However, revenues (a) pledged by such 
counties and cities to debt retirement prior to March 1, 1992, may continue to be used 
for that purpose until the original debt for which the revenues were pledged is retired, or 
(b) committed prior to March 1, 1992, by such counties or cities to a project may 
continue to be used for that purpose until the project is completed. 

 B. Revenues generated by the tax imposed by this Section shall be deposited in a separate 
fund. 

 C. For purposes of this Section, "Capital Project" means those public works projects of a 
local government for planning, acquisition, construction, reconstruction, repair, 
replacement, rehabilitation, or improvement of streets, roads, highways, sidewalks, 
street and road lighting systems, traffic signals, bridges, domestic water systems, storm 
and sanitary sewer systems, and planning, construction, reconstruction, repair, 
rehabilitation, or improvement of parks. 

 D. Expenditures of the 2nd REET shall occur in the following functional areas and in the 
following percentages: 

  1. Twenty-five percent for Capital Park and Recreation Projects – The funds in this 
category shall be used primarily for facilities in unincorporated Pierce County.  
However, if the facility is located in an incorporated area within Pierce County, at a 
minimum, a 1:1 match from the city shall be required as a condition of any 
expenditure of Pierce County funds.
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  2. Seventy-five percent for Bonded Major Arterial Transportation Projects – It is the 
intent of the County Executive and the County Council to issue bonds against these 
funds of approximately $33 million to fund Major Arterial Transportation Projects. 

 E. Authority to implement the 2nd REET shall sunset on December 31, 2026. 
(Ord. 2006-60s § 4, 2006; Ord. 2004-5 § 2, 2004; Ord. 2001-99s § 2 (part), 2001) 
 
4.24.020 Collection. 

Taxes imposed under this Chapter shall be collected from persons who are taxable by the 
state under RCW Chapter 82.45 upon the occurrence of any taxable event within the 
unincorporated areas of the County.  Taxes imposed under this Chapter shall comply with all 
applicable rules, regulations, laws and court decisions regarding real estate excise taxes as 
imposed under RCW Chapters 82.45 and 82.46.  (Ord. 85-204S § 1 (part), 1985) 
 
4.24.030 Tax is Seller's Obligation – Choice of Remedies. 

The tax levied under this Chapter is the obligation of the seller and may be enforced through 
an action of debt against the seller or in the manner prescribed for the foreclosure of mortgages.  
Resort to one in course of enforcement is not an election not to pursue the other.  (Ord. 85-204S 
§ 1 (part), 1985) 
 
4.24.040 Tax as a Lien – Foreclosure. 

The tax provided for in this Chapter and any interest or penalties thereon is a specific lien 
upon each piece of real property sold from the time of sale until the tax is paid, which lien may 
be enforced in the manner prescribed for the foreclosure of mortgages.  (Ord. 85-204S § 1 (part), 
1985) 
 
4.24.050 Payment of Tax – Evidence of Payment – Recording. 

Any tax imposed under this Chapter shall be paid to and collected by the County Auditor or 
designee.  The County Auditor shall cause a stamp evidencing satisfaction of the lien to be 
affixed to the instrument of sale for conveyance prior to its recording or to the real estate excise 
tax affidavit in the case of used mobile home sales.  A receipt issued by the County Auditor for 
the payment of the tax imposed under this Chapter shall be evidence of the satisfaction of the 
lien imposed in Section 4.24.040 and may be recorded in the manner prescribed for recording 
satisfaction of mortgages.  No instrument of sale or conveyance evidencing a sale subject to the 
tax may be accepted by the County Auditor for filing or recording until the tax is paid and the 
stamp affixed thereto; in case the tax is not due on the transfer, the instrument shall not be 
accepted until suitable notation of this fact is made on the instrument by the County Auditor.  
(Ord. 2001-99s § 2 (part), 2001; Ord. 85-204S § 1 (part), 1985) 
 
4.24.060 Distribution and Disposition of Proceeds of Tax Imposed Under PCC 4.24.010. 

A. The County Auditor shall place 1 percent of the proceeds of the taxes imposed under 
PCC 4.24.010 in the County general fund to defray the cost of collection. 

B. The remaining proceeds of the tax imposed under PCC 4.24.010 shall be used as 
follows: 
1. Twenty-five percent of the remaining proceeds shall be placed in a County Real 

Estate Excise Tax Capital River Improvement Fund to be used solely for 
construction of capital improvements authorized pursuant to RCW Chapter 82.46.  
This fund and the broader Pierce County river improvement funds established 
pursuant to RCW Chapter 86.12 (which authorizes expenditures for operation and 
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 maintenance of river improvements) shall not be transferred, removed, or placed in 

any other account or fund at any time for any purpose.  No monies placed in the 
funds shall be loaned or encumbered in any other fund or account.  All monies 
placed in river improvement fund shall be subject to the restrictions specified above 
in addition to the provisions of RCW 86.12.033 and RCW 82.46.030. 

2. Seventy-two percent of the remaining proceeds shall be placed in a County Real 
Estate Excise Tax Capital Improvement Fund for expenditures pursuant to RCW 
82.46.030. 

3. Three percent of the remaining proceeds shall be placed in a separately identifiable 
account within the Airport Fund to be used solely for capital improvements to the 
Pierce County Airport(s).  This fund shall not be transferred, removed, or placed in 
any other account or fund at any time for any purpose.  No monies placed in this 
fund shall be loaned or encumbered by any other fund or account.  All monies placed 
in the Airport(s) improvement fund shall be subject to the restrictions specified 
above in addition to the provisions of RCW 82.46.030. 

C. This Section does not limit the existing authority of the County to impose special 
assessments on properties specifically benefited thereby in the manner prescribed by 
law. 

(Ord. 2009-37 § 1, 2009; Ord. 2001-99s § 2 (part), 2001; Ord. 99-109 § 1, 1999; Ord. 91-55 § 1, 
1991; Ord. 90-78 § 1, 1990; Ord. 89-181 § 1, 1989; Ord. 88-198 § 1, 1988; Ord. 87-61 § 1, 1987; 
Ord. 85-228 § 1 (part), 1985; Ord. 85-204S § 1 (part), 1985) 
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Chapter 4.28 
 

SALES AND USE TAX 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.28.010 Imposition – Collection. 
  4.28.020 Rate. 
  4.28.030 Administration. 
  4.28.040 Credit. 
  4.28.050 Inspection of Records. 
  4.28.060 Violations. 
  4.28.070 Additional Tax – Imposition – Collection. 
  4.28.080 Additional Tax – Rate. 
  4.28.090 Additional Tax – Administration – Violations. 
  4.28.100 Additional Tax – Relationship to City Tax – Credit. 
  4.28.110 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Imposition. 
  4.28.120 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Rate. 
  4.28.130 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Allocation. 
  4.28.140 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Distribution. 
  4.28.150 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Administration, Violations and Penalties. 
  4.28.160 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Severability. 
 
  Cross-references:  Chapters 82.08, 82.12, 82.14 RCW 
 
4.28.010 Imposition – Collection. 

There is imposed a sales or use tax, as the case may be, upon every taxable event, as defined 
in RCW 82.14.020, occurring within the County.  The tax shall be imposed upon and collected 
from those persons from whom the State Sales or Use Tax is collected pursuant to RCW 
Chapters 82.08 and 82.12.  (Prior Code § 9.06.010) 
 
4.28.020 Rate. 

The rate of the tax imposed by Section 4.28.010 shall be one-half of one percent of the 
selling price or value of the article used, as the case may be.  (Ord. 91-53 § 1, 1991; Prior Code 
§ 9.06.020) 
 
4.28.030 Administration. 

The administration and collection of the tax imposed by this Chapter shall be in accordance 
with the provisions of RCW 82.14.050.  (Prior Code § 9.06.030) 
 
4.28.040 Credit. 

There shall be allowed against the tax imposed by this Chapter a credit for the full amount of 
any city sales or use tax imposed upon the same taxable event, as defined in RCW 82.04.020, 
upon which a tax is imposed by this Chapter.  (Prior Code § 9.06.040) 
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4.28.050 Inspection of Records. 

The County consents to the inspection of such records as are necessary to qualify the County 
for inspection of records of the Department of Revenue, pursuant to RCW 82.32.330.  (Prior 
Code § 9.06.050) 
 
4.28.060 Violations. 

Any seller who fails or refuses to collect the tax as required with the intent to violate the 
provisions of this Chapter or to gain some advantage or benefit, either direct or indirect, and any 
buyer who refuses to pay any tax due under this Chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor.  (Prior Code 
§ 9.06.060) 
 
4.28.070 Additional Tax – Imposition – Collection. 

Pursuant to the authority granted in RCW 82.14.030 (2) contained in Chapter 49, Section 17, 
Laws of Washington, 1982 1st Extraordinary Session, there is imposed an additional sales and 
use tax, as the case may be, upon every taxable event as defined in RCW Title 82, within the 
County.  The tax shall be imposed and collected pursuant to RCW Chapters 82.08 and 82.12.  
(Ord. 84-5 § 1 (part), 1984; Ord. 82-137§ 1 (part), 1982; prior Code § 9.06.070) 
 
4.28.080 Additional Tax – Rate. 

The rate of tax imposed by Section 4.28.070 shall be five-tenths of one percent of the selling 
price (in the case of sales tax) or value of the article (in the case of use tax).  (Ord. 84-5 § 1 
(part), 1984; Ord. 82-137 § 1 (part), 1982; prior Code § 9.06.080) 
 
4.28.090 Additional Tax – Administration – Violations. 

The provisions of Sections 4.28.030, 4.28.050 and 4.28.060 apply to the additional tax 
imposed by Section 4.28.070.  (Ord. 84-5 § 1 (part), 1984; Ord. 82-137 § 1 (part), 1982; prior 
Code § 9.06.090) 
 
4.28.100 Additional Tax – Relationship to City Tax – Credit. 

Should any city within Pierce County impose an additional sales and use tax pursuant to the 
authority granted such cities under RCW 82.14.030 (2), Chapter 49, Section 17, Laws of 
Washington, 1982 1st Extraordinary Session, then the relationship between such city tax and 
County tax shall be as set forth in the authorizing statute including the credit described in 
Section 84.14.040 (2), Chapter 49, Section 18, Laws of Washington, 1982 1st Extraordinary 
Session.  (Ord. 84-5 § 1 (part), 1984; Ord. 82-137 § 1 (part), 1982; prior Code 9.06.100) 
 
4.28.110  Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Imposition. 

Pursuant to the authority granted in RCW 82.14.340, Chapter 21, Section 6, Laws of 
Washington, 1993 1st Special Session, there is imposed an additional sales and use tax upon 
every taxable event within Pierce County.  (Ord. 93-98 § 1 (part), 1993) 
 
4.28.120  Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Rate. 

The rate of the sales and use tax imposed by Section 4.28.110 shall be one-tenth of one 
percent of the selling price or value of the article.  (Ord. 93-98 § 1 (part), 1993) 
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4.28.130 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Allocation and Use. 

A. At least 25 percent of Pierce County's tax revenues received as a result of the authority 
granted in RCW 82.14.340, Chapter 21, Section 6, Laws of Washington, 1993 1st  
Special Session, shall be expended on prevention and related preventative children's 
services.  The remaining tax revenue received by Pierce County (up to 75 percent) shall 
be expended on traditional criminal justice services and purposes. 

B. The tax revenue received by Pierce County as a result of RCW 82.14.340 shall not be 
expended until the funding recommendations as required by Ordinance No. 93-98 have 
been approved by the Pierce County Council and Pierce County Executive.  

(Ord. 93-98 § 1 (part), 1993) 
 
4.28.140 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Distribution. 

Distribution to Pierce County and the cities within Pierce County of the revenues collected 
pursuant to PCC Sections 4.28.110 and .120 shall occur as provided in RCW 82.14.340.  (Ord. 
93-98 § 1 (part), 1993) 
 
4.28.150 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Administration, Violations and Penalties. 

The provisions of PCC Sections 4.28.030, 4.28.050 and 4.28.060 apply to the criminal justice 
purposes tax imposed pursuant to PCC Sections 4.28.110 and 4.28.120.  (Ord. 93-98 § 1 (part), 
1993) 
 
4.28.160 Criminal Justice Purposes Tax – Severability. 

If any provision of this Chapter or its application to any person or circumstance is held 
invalid, the remainder of the Chapter or the application of the provisions to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected.  (Ord. 93-98 § 1 (part), 1993) 
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Chapter 4.30 
 

SALES AND USE TAX – RETAIL CAR RENTALS 
 
Sections: 
  4.30.010 Definitions. 
  4.30.020 Tax Imposed. 
  4.30.030 Rate. 
  4.30.040 Disposition of Proceeds. 
 
  Cross References:  Chapter 46.04, 82.08, 82.12, 82.14 RCW 
 
4.30.010 Definitions. 

A. "Rental car" means a passenger car, as defined in RCW 46.04.382, that is used solely by 
a rental car business for rental to others, without a driver provided by the rental car 
business, for periods of not more than 30 consecutive days. 
"Rental car" does not include: 
1. Vehicles rented or loaned to customers by automotive repair businesses while the 

customer's vehicle is under repair; 
2. Vehicles licensed and operated as taxicabs. 

B. "Rental car business" means a person engaging within Pierce County in the business of 
renting rental cars, as determined by the State Department of Licensing. 

C. "Retail car rental" means renting a rental car, as defined in subsection A. of this Section, 
to a consumer. 

(Ord. 92-122 § 1, 1992; Ord. 92-77S § 2 (part), 1992) 
 
4.30.020 Tax Imposed. 

There is imposed a sales and use tax, in addition to the tax authorized by RCW 82.14.030 
and imposed by Pierce County by Chapter 4.28 PCC, upon retail car rentals within Pierce 
County that are taxable by the State under Chapters 28.08 and 82.12 RCW.  (Ord. 92-77S § 2 
(part), 1992) 
 
4.30.030 Rate. 

The rate of tax imposed by this Chapter shall be 1 percent of the selling price in the case of 
sales tax or rental value of the vehicle in the case of a use tax.  (Ord. 92-77S § 2 (part), 1992) 
 
4.30.040 Disposition of Proceeds. 

A. Proceeds of the tax imposed under this Chapter shall be deposited in the General Fund. 
B. Proceeds of the tax shall not be used to subsidize any professional sports team and shall 

be used solely for the following purposes: 
1. Acquiring, constructing, maintaining, or operating public sports stadium facilities; 
2. Engineering, planning, financial, legal, or professional services incidental to public 

sports stadium facilities; or 
3. Youth or amateur sport activities or facilities. 

(Ord. 92-77S § 2 (part), 1992) 
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Chapter 4.32 
 

9-1-1 EMERGENCY TELEPHONE SYSTEM EXCISE TAX 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.32.010 Levy of Tax. 
  4.32.020 Imposition. 
  4.32.030 Contract with Department of Revenue. 
 
4.32.010 Levy of Tax. 

There is hereby levied an excise tax of seventy cents per month upon each switched access 
line in Pierce County, upon each radio access line whose place of primary use is located in 
Pierce County, and upon each interconnected voice-over internet protocol service line whose 
primary place of use is in Pierce County, pursuant to Chapter 82.14B RCW.  The definitions and 
provisions of Chapter 19, 2010 Laws of Washington applicable to the tax imposed by this 
Section, to the taxpayers or to the companies obligated to collect such tax are incorporated 
herein by reference thereto.  (Ord. 2010-68 § 1 (part), 2010; Ord. 96-40 § 1 (part), 1996; Ord. 
83-118 § 1, 1983) 
 
4.32.020 Imposition. 

This tax shall be imposed beginning January 1, 2011.  (Ord. 2010-68 § 1 (part), 2010; Ord. 
83-118 § 2, 1983) 
 
4.32.030 Contract with Department of Revenue. 

The County Executive is authorized to negotiate and enter into multi-year contracts with the 
Washington State Department of Revenue for the purpose of collecting taxes imposed under this 
Chapter, as well as for the purpose of providing system services, as authorized by Section 4, 
Chapter 19, 2010 Laws of Washington.  The first such contract shall be executed and effective 
on or before October 15, 2010.  The County Executive shall provide the Department of Revenue 
notice of the imposition of tax or of a change in the tax imposed by this Chapter no less than 75 
days before the effective date of the imposition of the tax or of a change in the tax.  (Ord. 
2010-68 § 2, 2010; Ord. 96-40 § 1 (part), 1996; Ord. 83-118 § 6, 1983) 
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Chapter 4.34 
 

VEHICLE LICENSE FEE 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.34.010 Fee Imposed. 
  4.34.020 Administration. 
  4.34.030 Use of Proceeds. 
  4.34.040 Referendum. 
  4.34.050 Exemption Process. 
 
4.34.010 Fee Imposed. 

Pursuant to RCW 82.80.020, a fee of $15.00 is imposed for vehicles authorized by RCW 
82.80.020(1) and determined by the State Department of Licensing to be registered within the 
boundaries of Pierce County.  (Ord. 98-75 § 1, 1998; Ord. 91-74S § 1 (part), 1991) 
 
4.34.020 Administration. 

The State Department of Licensing shall administer and collect the fee imposed in Section 
4.34.010 as provided in RCW 82.80.020.  (Ord. 91-74S § 1 (part), 1991) 
 
4.34.030 Use of Proceeds. 

The proceeds of the fee imposed in this Chapter shall be deposited in a Vehicle License Fee 
Fund and used strictly for transportation purposes in accordance with RCW 82.80.070.  (Ord. 
91-74S § 1 (part), 1991) 
 
4.34.040 Referendum. 

A. Procedures.  Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 5.70 of the Pierce County 
Charter, the referendum procedures imposed by RCW 82.80.090 shall apply to any 
referendum petition filed to repeal the vehicle license fee imposed by this Chapter. 

B. Filing Officer.  The filing officer for purposes of referendum pursuant to RCW 
82.80.090 shall be the Pierce County Auditor. 

(Ord. 91-74S § 1 (part), 1991) 
 
4.34.050 Exemption Process. 

A. There is hereby established an exemption process for this fee. 
B. Only the registered owners of vehicles residing within the boundaries of the County who 

meet the criteria in 1. or 2. below shall qualify for the exemption. 
1. The owner must be 61 years old or older at the time the payment of the fee is due 

and have an annual combined disposable household income as set forth in RCW 
84.36.381(5)(a) as now exists or is hereafter amended for property tax exemptions.  
"Combined disposable income" and "disposable income" shall mean the same as the 
terms are defined in RCW 84.36.383; or  

2. The owner must have a physical disability as defined in RCW 46.16.381 and must 
have been issued a permanent disabled persons placard or disabled persons license 
plates by Washington State Department of Licensing.  Proof of disability must be 
provided at the time of application for the exemption. 

(Ord. 2000-49S § 1, 2000) 
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Chapter 4.36 
 

CLAIMS BY AND AGAINST THE COUNTY 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.36.010 Claims Against the County – Forms. 
  4.36.020 Claims against the County – Filing. 
  4.36.025 Actions for Damages Against the County. 
  4.36.030 Claims Against the County – Review and Forwarding. 
  4.36.040 Claims Against the County – Approval or Denial. 
  4.36.050 Denial of Claims in Excess of Two Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars. 
  4.36.060 Claims Against the County – Payment. 
  4.36.070 Claims Against the County – Statistics. 
  4.36.080 Claims Against the County – Disposition Record. 
  4.36.090 Claims By the County – Recordation and Authorization to Collect. 
  4.36.100 Health Care Services, Industrial Insurance and Workman's Compensation 

Audits. 
  4.36.110 Judgments in Excess of Two Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars. 
  4.36.120 Reporting Time for Claims. 
 
  Cross-references:  Chapters 4.08, 4.96, 36.45 RCW; RCW 36.01.050, 36.22.040 
 
4.36.010 Claims Against the County – Forms. 

A. All claims against Pierce County shall be submitted on forms provided by the Pierce 
County Risk Management and Insurance Department and shall include the following 
information: 
1. Name of claimant; 
2. Date of incident; 
3. Amount of claim, if known; 
4. Nature of claim; 
5. County employee with knowledge of County's relationship to claim; 
6. County department having relationship to claim; 
7. If insured, when and how referred to insurer. 

B. The Risk Management and Insurance Department shall assign County file numbers to all 
claims and keep copies of all claims for a minimum of six years, indexed in a manner 
designed to effectuate their easy retrieval. 

(Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.010) 
 
4.36.020 Claims Against the County – Filing. 

All claims shall be filed with the Risk Management and Insurance Department.  The Risk 
Management and Insurance Department shall refer a copy of each claim filed to the Prosecuting 
Attorney and the Clerk of the County Council for appropriate action.  (Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 
1984; prior Code § 4.02.020) 
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4.36.025 Actions for Damages Against the County. 

A. No action shall be commenced against Pierce County in which monetary damages are 
being claimed until a written claim for damages has been presented to and filed with the 
Pierce County Risk Management and Insurance Department in accordance with the 
terms of this Chapter. 

B. A lawsuit based upon the allegations of a claim for damages may not be instituted 
against Pierce County within 60 days of the filing of such claim, unless the applicable 
statute of limitations will expire within that period of time.  The requirements of this 
Section shall not affect in any manner the commencement and running of any applicable 
statute of limitations.  

(Ord. 89-228 § 1, 1990) 
 
4.36.030 Claims Against the County – Review and Forwarding. 

All claims shall be reviewed by the Risk Manager with regard to insurance coverage, and he 
shall forward the claims to the appropriate insurance carrier and/or carriers.  (Ord. 87-44 § 1 
(part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.030) 
 
4.36.040 Claims Against the County – Approval or Denial. 

The Risk Management and Insurance Department is authorized to investigate claims and 
shall notify the Prosecuting Attorney of its opinion as to liability within 60 days after receipt 
thereof and thereupon make its recommendation of payment, denial, in whole or in part, of the 
claim as presented.  The 60-day period may be extended upon recommendation by the 
Prosecuting Attorney to a more appropriate time period.  Upon the concurrence of the 
Prosecuting Attorney, the Risk Management and Insurance Department will deny claims and 
advise claimants of the denials except as provided in Section 4.36.050.  Upon concurrence of the 
Prosecuting Attorney, the Executive or designee may settle claims up to a maximum of 
$250,000.00 without the approval of the County Council; provided, however, that the Risk 
Manager shall report to the Council, on a quarterly basis, all outstanding claims, and settlements 
made, during the reporting period.  All proposed settlements in excess of $250,000.00 which 
have been approved by the Prosecuting Attorney shall be submitted by the Prosecuting Attorney 
and the Executive to the County Council for approval.  (Ord. 2001-36 § 1 (part), 2001; Ord. 
84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.040) 
 
4.36.050 Denial of Claims in Excess of Two Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars. 

All claims which the Risk Manager, Executive and/or Prosecuting Attorney believes are 
likely to require payment by the County of an amount in excess of $250,000.00, whether by 
settlement or litigation, shall be presented to the County Council in executive session prior to 
denying the claim, in whole or in part.  (Ord. 2001-36 § 1 (part), 2001; Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 
1984; prior Code § 4.02.050) 
 
4.36.060 Claims Against the County – Payment. 

All claims approved by the County and/or Executive shall be sent to the Risk Management 
and Insurance Department, and the Risk Management and Insurance Department will direct that 
payment be made from an appropriate claim fund.  (Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code 
§ 4.02.060) 
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4.36.070 Claims Against the County – Statistics. 

The Risk Management and Insurance Department shall maintain statistical data on all claims 
of the County arising during the preceding month in such form as to conform with the requests of 
the liability insurance carriers.  Copies of appropriate statistical data are to be sent to the liability 
insurance carriers and the Prosecuting Attorney on a monthly basis.  Copies of the quarterly 
report showing the financial status of the self insurance loss paying fund shall be provided to the 
Council Fiscal Management Committee, the Prosecuting Attorney and the Executive.  (Ord. 
84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.070) 
 
4.36.080 Claims Against the County – Disposition Record. 

When a claim has been fully disposed of, the disposition shall be recorded in the claim file.  
(Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.080) 
 
4.36.090 Claims By the County – Recordation and Authorization to Collect. 

All claims the County may have against its insurance carrier and/or carriers or against any 
other person shall be referred to the Risk Management and Insurance Department.  The Risk 
Management and Insurance Department shall keep a register of such claims, indicating the 
following: 

A. The assigned Pierce County file number;  
B. Description of claim; 
C. Date of incident; 
D. County employee with knowledge of County's relationship to claim; 
E. Amount of claim, if known; 
F. County department having relationship to claim; 
G. Ultimate disposition of claim. 
The Prosecuting Attorney is authorized to prosecute and collect all claims, either in contract 

or tort, and may institute actions in court for such purposes.  The Risk Management and 
Insurance Department shall assist in the prosecution and collection of these claims.  Upon 
concurrence of the Prosecuting Attorney and the Risk Management and Insurance Department, 
the Executive may settle a claim for an amount equal to $50,000.00 or less than the claimed 
amount.  Approval of a majority of the County Council is required to settle a claim for an 
amount in excess of $50,000.00 less than the claimed amount. 
(Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.090) 
 
4.36.100 Health Care Services, Industrial Insurance and Workman's Compensation 

Audits. 
The Risk Manager shall each year audit the loss experienced under any health care contracts 

to which the County is a party, including industrial insurance and workman's compensation.  The 
audit will be conducted to determine the amount of money paid out by the contractors for 
categories for health care services in relation to the amount of premiums paid by the County to 
contractors.  The summary of the audits shall be presented to the Council before its May meeting 
each year.  (Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.100) 
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4.36.110 Judgments in Excess of Two Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars. 

In the event a judgment is entered against the County in an amount greater than $250,000.00, 
the Prosecuting Attorney and Executive shall appear before the Council in executive session and 
present the relevant facts regarding the claim; provided, that if the claim was presented to the 
Council prior to being denied, as set forth in Section 4.36.050, the presentation shall not be 
required.  (Ord. 2001-36 § 1 (part), 2001; Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 4.02.110) 
 
4.36.120 Reporting Time for Claims. 

All incidents or occurrences known to County officials, officers, employees and volunteers, 
that may result in claims against the County, shall be reported immediately (not later than 24 
hours) to the Risk Management and Insurance Department on forms maintained by the 
Department.  If such incident occurs on a weekend or holiday, it shall be reported as soon as the 
Risk Management and Insurance Office is reopened for business.  (Ord. 84-44 § 1 (part), 1984; 
prior Code § 4.02.120) 
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Chapter 4.40 
 

IN-LIEU OF ASSESSMENT CHARGES 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.40.010 Purpose of Fund. 
  4.40.020 Classifications of Fees or Earnings. 
  4.40.030 Authority of Utilities Department. 
  4.40.040 Interest Charges. 
  4.40.050 Amounts on Deposit – Generally. 
  4.40.060 Amounts on Deposit – Use and Transfer. 
  4.40.070 Correction of Overpayments. 
  4.40.080 Annual Operating Budget. 
 
4.40.010 Purpose of Fund. 

The purpose of the Customer Advances for Sewerage Construction Fund (the "fund") is to 
accumulate moneys which are intended to be used to defray the cost of future construction of 
permanent public sewer systems which directly benefit the parties or properties for which 
payment of such moneys is made or to contribute toward the payment of debt service on revenue 
bonds issued to defray such costs when such revenue bonds are to be or have been issued.  (Res. 
21571 § 1, 1979) 
 
4.40.020 Classifications of Fees or Earnings. 

There are deemed to be three classifications of fees or earnings which may be collected 
by or in conjunction with the in-lieu of assessment charges provided under authority of 
Resolution 14017 as follows: 

A. Payments of principal amounts of in-lieu of assessment charges by property owners; 
B. Payment of 8 percent interest on unpaid balances of in-lieu of assessment charges, 

which is deemed a charge for the privilege of paying in-lieu of assessment charges over 
a period of time; 

C. Earnings on the investment of the principal amounts of in-lieu of assessment charges 
and interest thereon, which is deemed an addition to and increase of customer accounts 
on deposit. 

(Res. 21571 § 2, 1979) 
 
4.40.030 Authority of Utilities Department. 

The Pierce County Utilities Department is directed to maintain records of the collection and 
payment of in-lieu of assessment charges provided in subsection A. of Section 4.40.020.  The 
County Treasurer is directed to invest the accumulation of these moneys in the fund, advise the 
Utilities Department of the earnings and accumulate such earnings for the benefit of the fund.  
The Utilities Department will make allocation of the interest earnings to each account for which 
records of principal amounts of in-lieu assessment charges on deposit are maintained within the 
fund.  (Res. 21571 § 3, 1979) 
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4.40.040 Interest Charges. 

Interest shall be charged on all unpaid principal amounts of in-lieu of assessment charges at 
the rate of 8 percent per year, simple interest until paid.  Such interest on unpaid charges shall be 
deposited to the Pierce County Sewer Maintenance Fund and used first to defray the costs of 
administering, maintaining records of, and collecting moneys into and on behalf of the fund, and 
thereafter for such other purposes and uses as may be deemed necessary or desirable by the 
Utilities Department.  (Res. 21571 § 4, 1979) 
 
4.40.050 Amounts on Deposit – Generally. 

Principal amounts of in-lieu of assessment charges together with the allocation of earnings 
thereon shall remain on deposit with the fund until the property on behalf of which such 
payments were made is able to be served by construction of a permanent public sewer system, or 
until such time as an assessment roll is filed for collection for the payment of revenue bonds 
issued to defray costs of such construction, whichever occurs first.  (Res. 21571 § 5, 1979) 
 
4.40.060 Amounts on Deposit – Use and Transfer. 

Upon or subsequent to the conditions set forth in Section 4.40.050, the amounts on deposit in 
the fund for each property shall be used and transferred to the applicable funds, in the order of 
priority set forth as follows: 

A. When an assessment roll for payment of revenue bonds is filed for collection, credit 
toward the assessment against each property shall be given for all principal amounts of 
in-lieu of assessment charges and interest earnings allocated thereon to the owner of 
such property at that time.  Said moneys are to be transferred to the revenue bond fund 
established for payment of the revenue bonds authorized. 

B. When permanent public sewer service is made available to a property, and that 
permanent public sewer service facility to which the property is able to be connected 
was constructed and financed by revenue bonds issued by the County, then the principal 
and interest earnings allocation on deposit shall be transferred to the revenue bond fund 
established for such revenue bonds. 

C. When permanent public sewer service is made available to a property, and that service is 
provided by a facility which is or has been constructed and financed by means other than 
the issuance of revenue bonds, the principal and interest allocations on deposit for that 
property shall be used first to defray or repay to the Utilities Department the costs of 
such construction, and thereafter for such other sewer utility construction purposes of 
costs as deemed desirable by the County. 

(Res. 21571 § 6, 1979) 
 
4.40.070 Correction of Overpayments. 

Authority is also given the Utilities Department to disburse such moneys as necessary to 
correct the overpayment of amounts from property owners.  (Res. 21571 § 7, 1979) 
 
4.40.080 Annual Operating Budget. 

An annual budget shall be prepared for the operation of the fund in accordance with the 
provisions of RCW Chapter 36.40, and all disbursements of moneys from the fund shall be made 
by the County Auditor in accordance with prescribed accounting procedures.  (Res. 21571 § 8, 
1979) 
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Chapter 4.44 
 

WARRANTS AND VOUCHER FORMS 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.44.010 Replacement Warrants. 
  4.44.020 Voucher Forms. 
 
  Cross-references:  Chapters 36.33, 36.34, 36.40, 36.48, 36.67 RCW 
 
4.44.010 Replacement Warrants. 

A. When any person, persons, firm or corporation reports the loss or destruction of a 
warrant for the payment of money or any bond or other instrument of indebtedness, 
issued by Pierce County, the County may cause a replacement to be issued in lieu 
thereof, subject to the same requirements and conditions, and according to the same 
procedure, as prescribed for the issuance of replacement state instruments in RCW 
43.08.064 and RCW 43.08.066, as presently enacted and as may be hereinafter 
amended. 

B. Upon the issuance of such replacement warrant or warrants, the Budget and Finance 
Department, upon being notified by the Auditor that such replacement warrant or 
warrants have been issued, shall register the same in a book kept for that purpose, 
known as a register of replacement warrants issued, and which book shall be kept and be 
a part of the records of the Budget and Finance Department. 

(Ord. 84-42 § 1 (part), 1984; prior Code § 9.20.010) 
 
4.44.020 Voucher Forms. 

Voucher forms made and established by the State Division of Municipal Corporations 
necessary to carry out the provisions of the County budget law and provide accurate accounting, 
are adopted and approved for use by the County Executive or his designee.  (Ord. 84-42 § 1 
(part), 1984; prior Code § 9.20.020) 
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Chapter 4.48 
 

COUNTY FUNDS 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.48.010 General Fund. 
  4.48.020 Special Revenue Funds. 
  4.48.030 Debt Service Funds. 
  4.48.040 Internal Service Funds. 
  4.48.050 Capital Project Funds. 
  4.48.060 Enterprise Funds. 
 
  Cross-references:  Chapters 36.33, 36.33A, 36.67 RCW 
 
4.48.010 General Fund. 

A. A General Fund is created for Pierce County pursuant to RCW 36.33.010.  The General 
Fund shall account for all revenues and expenditures which are not accounted for in 
other funds in accordance with State Law. 

B. Limitation on Use of General Fund.  No General Fund dollars shall be appropriated or 
otherwise transferred to Puget Sound Behavioral Health except as compensation for 
services rendered. 

(Ord. 2002-130s § 1, 2002; Ord. 89-114S § 10 (part), 1989) 
 
4.48.020 Special Revenue Funds. 

Pierce County's Special Revenue Funds include but are not limited to the following: 
A. Community Block Grant Fund No. 134.  There is created a special fund known as the 

"Community Development Block Grant Fund No. 134" for the purpose of receipting and 
expending monies for community development programs within Pierce County as 
developed by the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974.  (Res. 17837, 
1975; prior Code Chapter 10.08) 

B. County Fair Fund.  There is created a fund entitled "County Fair Fund" into which 
shall be deposited all funds received by the Pierce County Fair Association for 
conducting the Pierce County Fair.  (Res. 8249, 1961; prior Code Chapter 12.11) 

C. Drug Investigation Fund No. 122. 
1. Creation.  The Pierce County Sheriff is authorized to accept funds for Drug 

Investigation Fund No. 122, as funds are available from orders of the Pierce County 
Superior Court or any other municipality or court, or as any person or organization 
shall tender, to be spent for the purpose of investigation and apprehension of persons 
involved in the illegal sale, possession, or distribution of drugs or controlled 
substances.  Such monies shall be used to purchase controlled substances or drugs 
for use in criminal prosecutions, as well as for such other expenses as the Sheriff 
shall determine are reasonable and necessarily incident thereto. 

2. Bookkeeping and Accounting.  The Pierce County Sheriff shall be responsible for 
the implementation and maintenance of such bookkeeping and accounting as will, at 
a minimum, record the following: 
a. The advancement of funds to particular persons  for potential use; 
b. The actual use of funds advanced; 
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c. The recovery of funds spent, if any; 
d. The return of funds advanced but not expended.  The status of the funds shall be 

reported quarterly in writing to the Pierce County Prosecutor and shall be subject 
to audit.  

(Res. 20494, 1978; prior Code §§ 3.12.010, 3.12.020) 
D. Planning Service Area Fund No. 128.  There is created a special revenue fund known 

as the Planning Service Area Fund.  All revenues received from the State under Grant 
Award No. 2-A shall be placed in this fund for expenditure for planning and 
administrative services to the Area Agency on Aging.  (Res. 16289, 1973; prior Code 
Chapter 10.30) 

E. Stadium, Convention, and Tourist Attraction Facilities Fund.  There is created a 
special fund known as the Stadium, Convention, and Tourist Attraction Facilities Fund 
for the purpose of paying all or any part of the cost of acquisition, construction, or 
operation of stadium facilities, convention center facilities, or to pay or secure the 
payment of all or any portion of the general obligation bonds or revenue bonds issued 
for the purposes of specified herein, and to pay for advertising, publicizing, or otherwise 
distributing information to attract visitors and encourage tourist expansion.  Any monies 
accumulated in this fund may be invested in interest-bearing securities by the Director of 
Budget and Finance in any manner authorized by law.  (Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987; 
prior Code § 9.12.060) 

F. Visitor and Convention Promotion Fund.  There is created a special fund known as 
the Visitor and Convention Promotion Fund, into which all sums received as a result of 
the levy under Pierce County Code § 4.16.010 B. shall be paid.  Such sums as are 
deposited in this fund shall be used only for the purpose of visitor and convention 
promotions and development.  Any monies accumulated in this fund may be invested in 
interest-bearing securities by the Director of Budget and Finance in any manner 
authorized by law.  (Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987) 

G. Tourism Promotion and Capital Facilities Fund.  Effective January 1, 1998, there is 
hereby created a special fund in the treasury of Pierce County to be known as the 
Tourism Promotion and Capital Facilities Fund.  All funds raised as a result of the 
excise tax imposed on the sale or charge made for the furnishing of lodging by a hotel, 
motel or trailer camp pursuant to Chapter 4.16 PCC  shall be placed in such fund for the 
purpose of funding tourism promotion or tourism-related capital facilities.  Said funds 
shall be subject to appropriation by the Pierce County Council after considering the 
recommendations made by the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee.  Until January 1, 
1998, revenue collected pursuant to Chapter 4.16 PCC shall be deposited in existing 
funds established under PCC 4.48.020 E. and F. 

H. Tourism Promotion Area Fund.  There is created a special revenue fund known as the 
Pierce County Tourism Promotion Area Fund.  All funds raised as a result of the special 
assessment imposed on the sale or charge made for the furnishing of lodging pursuant to 
Chapter 4.18 PCC shall be placed in such fund for the purpose of funding tourism 
promotion.  Said funds shall be subject to appropriation by the Pierce County Council 
after considering the recommendations made by the Pierce County Tourism Promotion 
Area Hotel Commission. 

I. Pierce County Community Action Agency Fund.  There is created a special revenue 
fund known as the Pierce County Community Action Agency Fund.  All expenses 
incidental to the operation of the Pierce County anti-poverty programs shall be paid 
from this Fund.  All reimbursements from the Federal anti-poverty programs advanced 
shall be deposited in this Fund.  (Ord. 90-19S § 4, 1990) 
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J. Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund. 
 1. Creation.  There is hereby created a fund to be known as the Antiprofiteering 

Revolving Fund. 
 2. Deposits.  The Pierce County Department of Budget and Finance shall establish a 

fund account.  Accounting procedures authorized by law shall apply to said fund. 
 3. Appropriation.  The Prosecuting Attorney shall include an appropriation request 

covering the Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund in her or his annual budget request.  
Supplemental appropriations may be requested in the event of receipt of 
unanticipated revenue during the budget year. 

 4. Disbursements.  Disbursements from the Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund shall be 
on authorization from the Prosecuting Attorney.  

 5. Administration.  The Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund shall be administered by the 
Prosecuting Attorney under the conditions and for the purpose as hereinafter set 
forth and following all standard County fiscal policies and procedures. 

 6. Purpose.  The monies in the Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund shall be used for the 
investigation and prosecution of any offense which is prima facie cognizable under 
the statutory definition of criminal profiteering, including civil remedies pursuant to 
Chapter 9A.82 RCW as now existing or hereafter amended. 

 7. Jurisdiction.  The monies in the Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund shall be used by 
the Prosecuting Attorney for the investigation and prosecution of any offense which 
is prima facie cognizable under RCW 9A.82 which occurs within the jurisdiction of 
the Prosecuting Attorney as provided by court rule and/or state or federal laws. 

 8. Conditions. 
a. Any prosecution and investigation costs, including attorney's fees, together with 

any monetary penalties awarded under RCW 9A.82 recovered for the State by 
the Prosecuting Attorney as a result of enforcement of civil and/or criminal 
statutes pertaining to any offense included in the definition of criminal 
profiteering in Chapter 9A.82 RCW as now existing or hereafter amended, 
whether by final judgment, settlement, or otherwise, shall be deposited, as 
directed by a court of competent jurisdiction, in the Antiprofiteering Revolving 
Fund. 

b. In an action brought by the Prosecuting Attorney on behalf of the County under 
RCW 9A.82.100(1)(b)(i) in which the County prevails, any payments ordered in 
excess of the actual damages sustained shall be deposited in the Public Safety 
and Education Account in the State General Fund.  Actual damages sustained 
include damages and costs of suit, together with reasonable investigative costs 
and attorney's fees. 

 9. Fund Maximum.  The maximum level of monies which may be maintained in the 
Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund shall be $175,000.00. 

10. Excess monies.  In the event monies in the Antiprofiteering Revolving Fund exceed 
the prescribed maximum level, excess monies shall be transferred to the County's 
Current Expense Fund.  The computation to determine whether an excess exists 
shall take into account and allow credit for any expenses which have accrued but 
have not yet been charged against the fund as of the date the computation is made. 

11. Construction.  This subsection H. shall be liberally interpreted and construed to 
secure the public safety and the rules of strict construction shall not apply.
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12. Severability.  If any subpart, sentence, clause, or phrase of this subsection H., or 

amendment thereto, or its application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 
the remainder or application to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected. 

K. Conservation Futures Fund. 
1. Fund Established.  A special fund is hereby established, pursuant to RCW 84.34.240, 

which shall be known as the Conservation Futures Fund and to which shall be 
credited all taxes levied pursuant to PCC Chapter 4.14. 

2. Use of Fund. 
a. Amounts placed in the Conservation Futures Fund shall be used solely to acquire 

rights and interests in open space land, wetlands, habitat areas, farm, agricultural 
and timber lands, and to protect, preserve, maintain, improve, restore, limit the 
future use of, or otherwise conserve the property for public use or enjoyment. 

b. The Fund Manager shall not allow the withdrawal of any monies deposited in the 
Conservation Futures Fund unless a withdrawal is authorized by a Resolution 
from the Pierce County Council; PROVIDED, the Fund Manager is, without 
Council approval, authorized to make withdrawals of Conservation Futures 
Funds for the sole purpose of paying for the notice requirements contained in 
PCC Chapter 2.94. 

c. Until withdrawn for such use, the monies accumulated in the Conservation 
Futures Fund may be invested in interest-bearing securities by the Conservation 
Futures Fund Manager in any manner authorized by law.  All principal amounts 
and interest accrued from the investment of Conservation Futures Fund monies 
under this Section shall be re-depositied into the Conservation Futures Fund. 

3. Fund Manager.  The Director of the Budget and Finance Department shall be the 
Conservation Futures Fund Manager. 

4. Severability.  If any provision of this subsection or its application to any person or 
circumstance is to be held invalid, the remainder of this subsection or its application 
to other persons or circumstances is not affected. 

L. Marriage License Family Services Fee Account. 
1. Account Established.  A special account is hereby established which shall be known 

as the Marriage license Family Services Fee Account and to which shall be credited 
all fees collected pursuant to PCC 4.52.010. 

2. Use of Account.   
a. Amounts placed in the Marriage License Family Services Fee Account shall be 

used to fund family services such as issues related to domestic violence as 
directed by the Pierce County Council. 

b. The Director of Budget and Finance shall not allow the withdrawal of any 
monies deposited in the Marriage License Family Services Account unless 
authorized by an ordinance from the Pierce County Council or the annual budget. 

c. Monies accumulated in the Marriage License Family Services Fee Account may 
be invested in interest bering securities in any manner authorized by law.  All 
interest accrued from the investment of monies contained in the Account  shall 
be re-deposited into the Marriage License Family Services Fee Account. 

M. Regional Support Network Fund.  There is created a special revenue fund known as 
the Regional Support Network Fund to account for all the revenues associated with the 
Regional Support Network (RSN) and all the expenditures related to RSN activities. 

(Ord. 2009-110s § 2, 2010; Ord. 2007-40 § 1, 2007; Ord. 2000-75s2 § 3, 2000; Ord. 97-20S2 
§ 2, 1997; Ord. 95-95S § 1, 1995; Ord. 94-52 § 1, 1994; Ord. 91-65 § 2, 1991; Ord. 90-13 § 1, 
1990; Ord. 89-178 § 1, 1989; Ord. 89-114S § 10 (part), 1989; Ord. 87-158 § 1 (part), 1987) 
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4.48.030 Debt Service Funds.  [Reserved] 
(Ord. 89-178 § 2, 1989; Ord. 89-114S § 10 (part), 1989) 
 
4.48.040 Internal Service Funds. 

Pierce County's Internal Service Funds include but are not limited to the following: 
A. Equipment Rental and Revolving Fund.  There is created an Equipment Rental and 

Revolving Fund to be used as a revolving fund for the purchase, maintenance, and repair 
of County road equipment and other County equipment; for the purchase of equipment, 
materials, supplies, and services required in the administration and operation of the 
fund; and for the purchase and manufacture of materials and supplies needed by the 
County Road Department Services.  The Director of Public Works and the County 
Engineer shall administer the fund and be responsible for establishing the rates and 
charges for the sale of any material or supplies which have been purchased, maintained, 
or manufactured with monies from the fund, subject to final adoption by the County 
Council.  (Res. 20497-A, 1978; prior Code Chapter 90.26) 

B. Self-Insurance Claim Fund No. 138.  There is created a fund entitled "The Pierce 
County Self-Insurance Claim Fund No. 138" which shall be funded through monies 
appropriated from various departments from allocated insurance funds for purposes set 
forth in the self-insurance program.  The fund shall be maintained at a level adequate to 
provide for the anticipated costs of payments to be made against the fund.  The amount 
of money to be budgeted and appropriated from the various departments each year shall 
be based upon the recommendations of the County Executive.  (Ord. 84-45, 1984; Res. 
19538, 1977; prior Code Chapter 4.09) 

(Ord. 89-114S § 10 (part), 1989) 
 
4.48.050 Capital Project Funds. 

Pierce County's Capital Project Funds include but are not limited to the following:   
A. Public Works Construction Fund No. 320.  There is created a Capital Project Fund 

known as the Public Works Construction Fund No. 320.  All public works construction 
projects built by contract, whether grant funded or County funded, shall be budgeted and 
accounted for in this fund, in accordance with the Washington State Auditor guidelines 
as provided in the current Budget, Accounting, and Reporting System (BARS) manual.  
Budgeting shall be on the continuing appropriation basis which continues from year to 
year until the project is completed.  The policies and procedures governing this fund 
shall be included in the Pierce County Public Works Department Administration 
Procedures as required by Chapter 2.82 of the Pierce County Code.  

(Ord. 89-178 § 3, 1989; Ord. 87-129, 1987) 
 
4.48.060 Enterprise Funds. 

Pierce County's Enterprise Funds include but are not limited to the following: 
A. Sewer Maintenance Fund No. 402.  There is created an Enterprise Fund known as the 

Sewer Maintenance Fund No. 402 to be used solely for the purpose of paying the 
operation and maintenance expenses of the Sewer Utility and for such other purposes as 
specified in Section 10 of Resolution 15939, 1972. 
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B. Water Utility Fund No. 490.  There is created an Enterprise Fund known as the Water 
Utility Fund No. 490 for the purpose of paying for the development of the water rights 
located at the Chambers Creek Properties and for such other purposes as specified in 
County Code Title 7 "Water Utility".  The Water Utility Fund shall have the ability to 
borrow through interfund loans from other County funds. 

(Ord. 98-103 § 2, 1999; Ord. 89-201 § 2, 1989; prior Code § 82.14.010) 
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Chapter 4.52 
 

MARRIAGE LICENSE FAMILY SERVICES FEE 
 
 
Section: 
  4.52.010 Fee Imposed. 
 
4.52.010 Fee Imposed. 

Pursuant to RCW 26.04.160, an additional fee of $15.00 is imposed on each marriage license 
issued by the Pierce County Auditor. 

The Auditor shall collect the fee upon issuance of a marriage license, and deposit the funds in 
Marriage License Family Services Fee Account. 
(Ord. 95-113 § 1 (part, 1995) 
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Chapter 4.56 
 

SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT FEES 
 
 
Section: 
  4.56.010 Sheriff's Department Fees. 
 
4.56.010 Sheriff's Department Fees. 
 The Sheriff's Department shall collect the following fees for its official services: 

A. For service of each summons and complaint, notice and complaint, summons and 
petition, and notice of small claim on one defendant at any location, $30.00, and on two 
or more defendants in the same residence, $35.00, besides mileage; 

B. For making a return, besides mileage actually traveled, $15.00 for each return of service; 
C. For levying each writ of attachment or writ of execution upon real or personal property, 

besides mileage, $60.00 per hour; 
D. For filing copy of writ of attachment or writ of execution with Auditor, $25.00 plus 

Auditor's filing fee; 
E. For serving writ of possession or restitution without aid of the county, besides mileage, 

$60.00; 
F. For serving writ of possession or restitution with aid of the county, beside mileage, 

$60.00 plus $60.00 for each hour after one hour; 
G. For serving an arrest warrant in any action or proceeding, besides mileage, $60.00; 
H. For executing any other writ or process in a civil action or proceeding, besides mileage, 

$60.00 per hour; 
I. For each mile actually and necessarily traveled in going to or returning from any place 

of service, or attempted service, up to the per mile rate established by the United States 
Internal Revenue Service as their standard business rate with a $10.00 minimum mileage 
charge; or, at the discretion of the Sheriff, the Sheriff may establish geographic zones 
within Pierce County and may charge a mileage rate to that zone as opposed to the exact 
location if, in the discretion of the Sheriff, this process would be a cost effective and fair 
process; 

J. For making a deed to lands sold upon execution or order of sale or other decree of court, 
to be paid by the purchaser, $60.00; 

K. For making copies of papers when sufficient copies are not furnished, $2.00 for the first 
page and $1.00 per each individual page; 

L. For the service of any other document and supporting papers for which no other fee is 
provided herein, $35.00; 

M. For posting a notice of sale, or postponement, $20.00 besides mileage; 
N. For certificate or bill of sale or property, or certificate of redemption, $60.00; 
O. For conducting a sale of property, $50.00 per hour spent at a Sheriff's sale; 
P. For notarizing documents, $10.00 for each document. 
Q. For fingerprinting for non-criminal purposes, $10.00 for each person for up to two sets; 

$3.00 for each additional set; 
R. For mailing required by statute, whether regular, certified, or registered, the actual cost 

of postage; 
S For an internal criminal history records check, $15.00;
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T. For the reproduction of audio, visual, or photographic material, to include magnetic 

microfilming, the actual cost including personnel time. 
U. All other provisions of RCW 36.18.010 are incorporated by reference unless 

inconsistent herewith. 
(Ord. 2008-108 § 1, 2008; Ord. 2003-120 § 1, 2003) 
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Chapter 4.58 
 

FEES 
 
 
Sections: 
  4.58.010 Miscellaneous Fees – County General. 
  4.58.020 County Auditor Fees. 
  4.58.030 County Public Works Photocopying and Reproduction Fees. 
  4.58.040 Assessor-Treasurer Fees. 
  4.58.050 County Parks and Recreation Fees. 
  4.58.060 Superior Court Clerk – Fees for Non-Statutory Services. 
 
4.58.010 Miscellaneous Fees – County General. 

A. Miscellaneous noncertified copies reproduced 
 on convenience copiers ................................................................................. $ .15 per page 
B. Miscellaneous noncertified copies reproduced 
 on microfilm reader/printer ..........................................................................  $ .50 per page 
C. Tape recordings--Re-recording: 

1. Using County tapes ...................................................................................... $7.00 each 
2. Using requestor's tape ................................................................................... $3.00 each 

(Ord. 2007-76s2 § 2 (part), 2007) 
 
4.58.020 County Auditor Fees. 

A. File Transfer Protocol (FTP) ..................................................................... $ .015 per image 
B. Standard maps ................................................. in accordance with current production cost 
C. Custom maps ................................................... in accordance with current production cost 
D. Personalized tags, small .............................................................................................$ 6.00 
E. Personalized tags, large ..............................................................................................$ 8.00 
F. Debit, credit and electronic internet payment for 
 on-line services .......................................................................... up to $1.50 per transaction 
G. Duplicate marriage packets ........................................................................................$ 6.00 

(Ord. 2009-104 § 1, 2009; Ord. 2007-76s2 § 2 (part), 2007) 
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4.58.030 County Public Works Photocopying and Reproduction Fees. 

A. Fee for contract plans and specifications 
for roadway and drainage projects ............................................... The aggregate amount 

 commensurate with the current fees charged 
 by Public Works and General Services 

B. Prints of County Maps: 
3/4" = 1 mile complete County ....................................................................... $ 2.25 each 
1" = 1 mile west 1/2 of County ....................................................................... $ 2.25 each 
2" = 1 mile Road Districts 1,2,3 ...................................................................... $ 2.25 each 

C. Blue Line: 
Road District Maps (42 x 50) .......................................................................... $ 2.75 each 
Council District Maps (Set) ............................................ Varies with number of pages/size 
Township Maps, 4" = 1 mile ........................................................................... $ 1.75 each 
Township Maps, 2" = 1 mile ........................................................................... $ .75 each 
Township Atlas, 4" = 1 mile ............................................................................ $ 55.00 each 
Township Atlas, 2" = 1 mile ............................................................................ $ 15.00 each 
Topographical Map ......................................................................................... $ 8.00 each 
Topographical Map, Mylar.............................................................................. $ 26.50 each 
Aerial Photograph, 1" = 400' ........................................................................... $ .75 each 
Comprehensive Drainage ................................................................................ $ 8.00 each 
County Maps, 24 x 36 ..................................................................................... $ 1.25 each 
All Maps, 18 x 24 - 24 x 36 ............................................................................. $ 1.25 each 
All Maps, 42 x 50 - 60 ..................................................................................... $ 2.75 each 
All Maps, 12 x 18 - 18 x 18 ............................................................................. $ .75 each 
Formal Plats, 18 x 24 ....................................................................................... $ 1.25 each 
SP & LL, Mylar Form ..................................................................................... $ 7.00 each 
Sepias, 18 x 24 ................................................................................................. $ 2.25 each 
Sepias, 24 x 36 ................................................................................................. $ 4.25 each 

 
D. Xerox 2510/Tamaran 36 U: 

Bond: 
12 x 18 ....................................................................................................... $ 1.75 each 
18 x 18 ....................................................................................................... $ 2.50 each 
18 x 24 ....................................................................................................... $ 3.50 each 
24 x 36 ....................................................................................................... $ 6.25 each 
36 x 36 ....................................................................................................... $ 9.25 each 

Vellum: 
12 x 18 ....................................................................................................... $ 3.00 each 
18 x 18 ....................................................................................................... $ 4.25 each 
18 x 24 ....................................................................................................... $ 5.50 each 
24 x 36 ....................................................................................................... $ 10.75 each 
36 x 36 ....................................................................................................... $ 16.00 each 

Mylar: 
18 x 24 ....................................................................................................... $ 7.00 each 
24 x 36 ....................................................................................................... $ 13.75 each 
36 x 36 ....................................................................................................... $ 20.50 each 
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E. Other: 

Microfilm Prints .............................................................................................. $ .50 each 
Short Plat Book ............................................................................................... $ 6.75 each 
Speed Limit List .............................................................................................. $ 3.00 each 

(Ord. 2007-76s2 § 2 (part), 2007) 
 
4.58.040 Assessor-Treasurer Fees. 

A. Reader printer or microfilm copies .................................................................... $1.00 each 
B. Treasurer's historical records copying fees (billed to the nearest 6 minutes) .. $56.00 hour 
C. Large format copies of records (includes historical maps) .............................. $56.00 hour 

 plus postage 
D. Assessor's Maps: 

Custom Maps (billed to nearest 6 minutes) ...................................................... $62.00 hour 
Orthophotography Maps (billed to the nearest 6 minutes) ............................... $62.00 hour 

 plus postage 
Quick Print Maps (computer generated, based on $56.00 hour rate) ................. $5.60 each 

 plus postage 
Standards Maps (based on $56.00 hour rate) ..................................................... $5.60 each 

 plus postage 
E. Electronic records: 
 Sales History Records on CD (based on $66.10 hour rate) .............................. $66.10 each 
 Tax Records on CD (based on $66.10 hour rate) ............................................. $66.10 each 
 Appraisal Records on CD (based on $66.10 hour rate) .................................... $66.10 each 
 Foreclosure Records on CD (based on $66.10 hour rate) ................................ $66.10 each 
 Custom Electronic Records on CD .................................................................. $66.10 hour 
F. Tax Statement Copies ......................................................................................... $1.00 each 
G. Application Review Services: 
 Open Space Farm and Agriculture Application Review .........................................$300.00 
 Open Space Land Review .......................................................................................$315.00 
 Open Space Timberland Review .............................................................................$315.00 
 Designated Forestland Application Review ............................................................$300.00 
 Multi-Family Exemption Review ............................................................................$225.00 
 Historic Property Review ........................................................................................$150.00 
 Compensating Tax Preparation/Review ....................................................................$50.00 

(Ord. 2009-106s § 2, 2010; Ord. 2007-76s2 § 2 (part), 2007) 
 
4.58.050 County Parks and Recreation Fees. 

A. Comprehensive parks and recreations system plan: 
1. Main report .........................................................................................................$ 5.00 
2. Summary excerpt ................................................................................................$ 2.00 
3. Appendix ............................................................................................................$ 1.00 

(Ord. 2007-76s2 § 2 (part), 2007) 
 
4.58.060 Superior Court Clerk – Fees for Non-Statutory Services. 

A. The Superior Court Clerk (Clerk) is entitled to collect fees for those services which are 
not set by statute, RCW 36.18.016.
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B. The Clerk may charge a fee for providing working copies of electronically submitted 

case documents to Superior Court Judges.  The Clerk may charge no less than $5.00 and 
no more than $10.00 per submission or an annual fee per attorney of no less than 
$250.00 and no more than $400.00 per year for unlimited submissions.  The Clerk shall 
have the authority to set this fee by policy and may adjust this fee no more than 
annually. The Clerk may establish reasonable policies and procedures by which this 
service will be accomplished.  A submission is defined as a collection of documents for 
a single case that shall not exceed 100 pages in total. 

(Ord. 2010-60s § 1, 2010) 
 
 
 
 


